Quicktime format help...

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by expergo, Mar 25, 2007.

  1. expergo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    #1
    Hey,

    Can someone help me understand some things about DV. Sometimes my DV clips are huge (ie. 50mb/s) while other times they are (30mb/s). They are all 640x480, so I'm not sure why sometimes they have big data rates and other times it's "normal". I thought DV was always 3.5MB/s, so why do I get 50mb/s sometimes?

    Thanks!
     
  2. killr_b macrumors 6502a

    killr_b

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Location:
    Suckerfornia
  3. killr_b macrumors 6502a

    killr_b

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Location:
    Suckerfornia
    #3
    Ok wait. You need to be more specific. DVCPRO 50 is 50 mb (little mb for mega-bits). So that would be correct. DV25 is about 25 to 30 mb/ sec. So that is also correct.
     
  4. expergo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    #4
    50mb/s not MB.

    It's weird. Sometimes when I go to movie info in Quicktime, it says like 50mb/s and the file size BUT when I go to the info of the file from the finder, it says the file size is half of what it says in quicktime. Like this image...[​IMG]
    but in Finder, it says a different file size for the video.
    [​IMG]
    If it was a minor thing I wouldn't really care, but when I use the video in some programs it plays weird.

    I'm not sure exactly when this happens. This file that I used as an example was from an HDD camcorder. I used MPEG streamclip to convert it to DV.
     
  5. killr_b macrumors 6502a

    killr_b

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Location:
    Suckerfornia
    #5
    Hmmm. I've not used mpeg stream clip myself. But that is crazy. I'm almost at a loss for words on it… :confused: :p
     
  6. expergo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    #6
    It's very weird. I know it's not just my computer cause I've created the same thing on other Macbooks. :(

    Not only is this weird...but there's also a quality loss when I use some videos. By quality loss, it's as if the "high quality" setting in Quicktime is disabled. I don't know why it does that either.

    Here's a test clip I made (for a church) in Motion.

    This is an image when the clip is in the "media" pane in iMovie.

    This is what happens to the image the moment that I drag the clip onto the timeline.

    I don't understand why there is a quality loss for no reason. :confused:
     
  7. killr_b macrumors 6502a

    killr_b

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Location:
    Suckerfornia
    #7
    That there is normal. It's what happens to text in DV. Sucky, I know. Usually if I'm doing text I put my DV footage into a 10 bit sequence in FCP. When rendered the text stays smooth, but it takes a whole crap load of extra room if you want a stand alone 10 bit movie. But if exported straight to mpeg2 then you keep the smooth text. This is my standard solution.
     
  8. expergo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    #8
    But I've created DV movies (using FCP) that have had super clear text so how is this different?
     
  9. killr_b macrumors 6502a

    killr_b

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Location:
    Suckerfornia
    #9
    Well, I don't know. I've been doing it the same for so long… I don't even try anymore?

    Out of curiosity, why aren't you using FCP now?
     
  10. expergo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    #10
    Haha..I don't know. Sometimes just throwing it in iMovie for simple things is faster.

    With the first problem, even if I import the video to FCP, then I export it as a DV, it still has this weird data rate. And it doesn't play correctly. :/
     

Share This Page