Quicktime in Windows...

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jatfla, Jun 27, 2006.

  1. jatfla macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    #1
    I am a novice computer user. I have Windows XP and I have QuickTime on my computer. When I go to certain sites for audio, MP3's I get a message like this:

    Quick Time not found. Error #79553548 Please download Quick Time.

    Can you help me?
     
  2. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    Err.. this is a Mac forum you know.

    Well anyway, have you uninstalled and reinstalled Quicktime?

    Telling us what steps you've troubleshot with would help.
     
  3. Killyp macrumors 68040

    Killyp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    #3
    Don't scare off the nice man. Just because he's a PC user doesn't mean he should be sliced into 60 pieces with a blunt knife...


    I'd do a complete uninstall of Quick Time, using something like Add/Remove Pro, which removes all the registry entries and random files Quick Time leaves behind (Windows is ALWAYS like this). Then install it again. Just running the Setup EXE and clicking reinstall won't do anything....

    Don't you just LOVE your PC? :p
     
  4. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    Not entirely sure how you qualify my reponse as such a violent attack..

     
  5. chasemac macrumors 6502a

    chasemac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Location:
    In a house.
    #5
    Just curious to know what sites you are visiting?:)
     
  6. Killyp macrumors 68040

    Killyp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    #6
    Laughing at a PC user for not having a Mac is enough of an insult. I know what it was like, 3 LONG years with a top of the line dell, and my one mate at school who has an iMac was the only person who never had any problems with his computer!

    How I can look back on my childhood memories (the last 3 years) and feel good about myself with the position I'm in now... :D
     
  7. mmzplanet macrumors regular

    mmzplanet

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Location:
    Florida
    #7
    It wasn't violent, I think he was just being funny :D Even though this is a Mac site, everyone here uses quicktime, so why not ask?

    I think a remove and reinstall will solve the issue. Windows probably broke quicktime somehow. Whats new. :cool:
     
  8. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8
    Hrm.. again.. was I laughing? I'm not sure where that was indicated.

    I think you're reading a bit more into my post than is actually there. ;)

    High likelyhood that we'll never see that user again, anyway. Even higher probability that uninstall/reinstall will fix it up.
     
  9. iJawn108 macrumors 65816

    iJawn108

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    #9
    Change the assitiated file types. Quicktime might be trying to open something it can't.
     
  10. jatfla thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    #10
    Quick Time

    You can laugh at me all you want. I'm a 'she', so does that explain things a little better?:rolleyes: And I'd never heard of a MAC until I heard Rush Limbaugh say it's the best. Too late for me.

    I was sent here BECAUSE it is the Mac forum. I have done the uninstall/install twice and still........ It does work sometimes.....

    I will go back and see where the two sites were that I tried. So you can't tell my the number?
     
  11. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #11
    Nope. On Macs errors don't pan out that way..
     
  12. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #12
  13. jatfla thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    #13
  14. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #14
    It works on a Mac just fine.. However, I wonder if this is actually an iTunes problem rather than a Quicktime problem. Have you tried uninstalling/reinstalling iTunes?
     

Share This Page