QuickTime Pro taken away by Apple!!!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by all-in-my-head, May 3, 2005.

  1. all-in-my-head macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Still running Panther (waiting to see how tiger works out) and did my usual update routine, which included QuickTime 7.

    So i install it along with security update etc etc and now my Pro features are no longer available. Such as save move from web, full screen mode and all the rest.

    I understand that QT 7 is a complete new version, but as it was labelled on the Software Updater as a an "update" i did not expect to loose the Pro functionality i had already PAID for previously.

    Is there any way of uninstalling this update to get back to QT 6.x and my pro features?? At least until i decide i want to pay for the QT7Pro update, which i assumed i would have to when getting Tiger.

    S
     
  2. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #2
    You ought to call Apple, give them your key number and ask what's up.
     
  3. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #3
    I'm sorry - I don't know of any way to go back unless you have backups from before the update.

    In all fairness, there were warnings on the site as well as in Software Update that QT7 would require a purchase of a new Pro license.

    FWIW, the QT7 Pro version is quite nice and, I think, easily worth the cost.
     
  4. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #4
    Ah, good to know. I just bought Pro last week. Finally.
     
  5. all-in-my-head thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    ah nice one. thanks for that. trying it now.

    did have a look but couldn't see much on apple's site.

    guess i'll learn to read through those agreements when installing/updating rather than clicking through them!
     
  6. mcarnes macrumors 68000

    mcarnes

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    USA! USA!
    #7
    Cough up another $30. QT7 Pro is worth it. Trying to go back to QT6 will be more of a headache then it is worth.

    The new controls in full screen was alone worth the $30 to me.
     
  7. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #8
  8. davinche macrumors regular

    davinche

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #9
    QT 6.5.2 Reinstaller

    http://wsidecar.apple.com/cgi-bin/n...osx&method=sa/QuickTime_6.5.2_ReInstaller.dmg
    Here is the link from Apple's support site that allows you to reinstall QT 6.5.2 and I would guess allow you to use your old key.

    OOPS Guess I waited to long to submit the response...
     
  9. all-in-my-head thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #10
  10. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #11
    I'm not going to update until I get FCP Studio - and that will come with a key. Is anyone running FCP with QT7 now?

    I'm going to post this question in the digital video forum....

    D
     
  11. wwooden macrumors 68000

    wwooden

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #12
    Maybe next time you should read the stuff it says at you install. There is a point where is says that you will lose your pro key by upgrading to 7.
     
  12. ZildjianKX macrumors 68000

    ZildjianKX

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    #13
    Saw this on hardmac.com, perhaps it might help:

    According to XLR8yourmac, it ought to be possible to use *some* PRO features of QT7 in QT 6.5.2 without shelling out the cash for a licence. To achieve that, you'll need an installed copy of QT 6.5.2 PRO. Then, copy the Quicktime Player app bundle onto your tiger boot drive and rename it.
    We haven't tested this hint, so feel free to send us your success/failure reports.

    Btw, for those only wanting to play things in fullscreen, Roland reminded us that you just need to create a small applescript containing the following code :

    tell application "QuickTime Player"
    present front movie scale screen
    end tell
     

Share This Page