Quicktime Update! (19MB)

Discussion in 'New Mac Application Announcements' started by blackpeter, Oct 22, 2002.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    #1
    Software update... you know the drill*
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    Thanks! :)
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #3
    Old News

    The Quicktime update came out a week or two ago. I just downloaded it, and it's still 6.0.2.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2001
    Location:
    boston
    #4
    any ideas what this is for? a new iTunes/iMovie or something? What exactly does this bring?
     
  5. macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
    #5
    Reliability update, basically. I think it must correct crashes, perhaps have a revamped code for certain formats, etc. Just tweaks. I can't see any real functionality differences.

    :)
    pnw
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #6
    19MB of tweaks!?!?!?

    my converted divx movies better play better in fullscreen.
     
  7. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #7
    For those of you using FCP3 and or DSP on OS X 10.2, don't upgrade to this version.

    As always, stick with the version that came with 10.2.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    #8
    Any reason why?
     
  9. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #9
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    Location:
    Zeeland, Nederland
    #10
    Oh, great. Too late now
     
  11. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #11
    You may not notice anything wrong. Apple is just trying to do a CYA in case some pro users encounter bugs they haven't had a chance to test out yet.
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    macktheknife

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    #12
    I've tried upgrading through software updates and downloading the actual package from Apple, but I'm getting an error everytime I try to upgrade. Anyone else having the same issue?
     
  13. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids
    #13
    Works fine so far in FCP3

    So far everything is working correctly in FCP3 with QT 6.0.2
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    springscansing

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #14
    Man, I still can't believe we gotta pay for the pro version... still!
     
  15. macrumors 68040

    applemacdude

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Location:
    Over The Rainbow
    #15
    tfaz1 u from oaktown, me too. where in oaktown?
     
  16. macrumors 65816

    madamimadam

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    #16
    Where do you think the funds come from to keep QT the number one media player/editor/encoder in its class without advertising?

    It is like everyone who bitched about having to pay for iTools/.Mac... ESP. when the market is in a slum, where do you think the money is coming from?
     
  17. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    NYC, L.A.
    #17
  18. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #18
    No, it just changed in the last few days. It used to say that FCP and DSP users should use the version that came with 10.2.1. :p
     

Share This Page