Quicktime

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by LooseInk, Mar 17, 2007.

  1. LooseInk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    British Columbia, Canada
    #1
    I'm starting to find I'm getting frustrated with my Quicktime program. According to the registered copy I am running on my MacBook Pro it's as up-to-date as it can get, but I still find I'll be either on a webpage or downloading something that will just show up as the 'Q' logo with a question mark in the centre.

    I'm guessing it's not reading the actual format of the item I'm trying to view. I did check my preferences/settings for Quicktime and nothing seemed out of the ordinary.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #2
    Have you installed appropriate codecs? I'd suggest Perian and Flip4Mac at minimum.
     
  3. cwedl macrumors 65816

    cwedl

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    #3
    Normally you get that if the video your downloading is no long available/can't be found or if the server is too busy and it timesout
     
  4. LooseInk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    British Columbia, Canada
    #4
    Hmmm, I have Flip4Mac, but it appears to be an un-registered copy so maybe it's expired.
     
  5. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    You only need to register if you intend to create WMVs. This should have nothing to do with your problem.

    Word to the wise: Anytime you need help with a website or a feature on a website, you need to provide a link. You cannot expect help if we can't duplicate your problem.
     
  6. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #6
    I don't really know where my idea came from, but I suggest u

    install new flash player from adobe. sometimes the embeded flash has quicktime video at back end, in that case, u need new flash player installed.
     
  7. LooseInk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    British Columbia, Canada
    #7
    That's all it took! I had to re-install Flash Player.

    Thanks!
     

Share This Page