Radeon 7000 vs Rage Pro 128

Discussion in 'Games' started by Maclarny, Nov 8, 2003.

  1. Maclarny macrumors 6502

    Maclarny

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Location:
    MN
    #1
    I have a 400 mhz G4 "Yikes" Powermac and am thinking about upgrading to the Radeon 7000 from the ATI Rage Pro 128 that came standard in my Mac. I would like to know if anyone has upgraded to the Radeon 7000 and, if so, what the performance boosts were like. I'm thinking Quake 3 and other game benchmarks etc. Thanks
     
  2. mattmack macrumors 6502a

    mattmack

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    San Francisco Area
  3. Maclarny thread starter macrumors 6502

    Maclarny

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Location:
    MN
    #3
    thanks for the info but I was wondering if anyone here has tried it out and can tell me of the performance gains. Thanks.
     
  4. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #4
    Performance is better with the Radeon 7000, Quake frames jumped about 10-20 fps on my Beige 500mhz.
     
  5. Maclarny thread starter macrumors 6502

    Maclarny

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Location:
    MN
    #5
    Were you coming from an ATI Rage Pro 128 w/ 16 megs?
     
  6. manitoubalck macrumors 6502a

    manitoubalck

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    Can you still buy the Radeon 7000:confused: If they do don't waste your money. From memory it's a directX7.0 card, they're up to DirectX9.0

    Buy a Radeon 9600, they retail for around $150-200USD.
     
  7. Maclarny thread starter macrumors 6502

    Maclarny

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Location:
    MN
  8. Powerbook G5 macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #8
    Macs don't use DirectX so that doesn't matter.
     
  9. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #9
    I had a Xlcaim Rage 128 w/16MB RAM. The Radeon 7000 let me run Quake3 with higher graphics at better frame rates.
     
  10. panphage macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    #10
    I am currently using a Rage 128. :D I've been considering moving to a flashed pc radeon 7000 (agp, I have to, it's a cube) cuz the 7000 is a great performance gain without the heat problems of something like a GeForce 3. A quote on performance of the AGP 7000 from CubeOwner:

    "well, the radeon 7000 AGP IS faster than the radeon classic, it even beats the geforce 2MX! according to xbench 1.0, the three cards perform almost equal in the "Quartz Graphics Test" and the "User Interface Test" but in OpenGL, the Radeon7000 is clearly faster, not that much, but about 30%."

    If you're looking for games, that OpenGL bit is gold for you. The gf2mx is significantly better than the 128, don't have benches, but you can actually play some almost-modern games with the gf2.

    Here we go, from the first XLR8 link (http://www.xlr8yourmac.com/Graphics/radeon_7000_feedback.html) above:

    " I bought the Radeon 7000 to replace my stock Rage128 in my B&W G3/450. As I have no AGP slot, it's looking like this is best card I can find right now for gaming purposes.

    Installation in my 66mhz slot was a breeze. Since I'm running OS 9.0.4, I used Tomeviewer to extract OpenGL 1.2.2 and put it into my extensions folder. Works great. My first boot under the new card reset my 17" Studio Display back to 640x480, as your other readers reported. Once the system booted I simply changed it back to my prefered resolution with no problems. The card seemed to only offer marginal 2D performance increases. It was difficult to tell in general use. However, my Quake experience was completely altered. I general play I went from 18-55 fps (peaks at 100) to 50-100 (peaks at 130) fps using custom configs. Resolutions under 1024x768 were very quick and stable. Over that and it became more choppy and inconsistant. For those who are interested, using a custom config in a very low setting, I was able to coax 55-88 fps at 1600x1200 on my machine. It wasn't pretty, but it was suprisingly quick.

    Overall this has been an excellent addition for the price. It was a painless and transparent upgrade to my system, but packed a huge performance punch. Thanks for collecting all those user comments and running a fantastic site!
    -Pat"
     
  11. Maclarny thread starter macrumors 6502

    Maclarny

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Location:
    MN

Share This Page