Radeon 9000 vs. GeForce FX 5200 Ultra

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by QCassidy352, Sep 27, 2004.

  1. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #1
    So I recently acquired a GeForce FX 5200 Ultra graphics card that I can't use. My girlfriend has a Radeon 9000 in her powermac G4. If the 5200 is a superior card I'll swap it in... so does anyone know which is better? Both have 64 MB of VRAM, btw.
     
  2. slughead macrumors 68030

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #2
    The 5200 is faster than the 9000.

    However, the 5200 requires 8X AGP which only exists in the mirror-door powermac G4 and the G5.

    The fastest 4xAGP card for mac is the 9800 retail, as seen here:
    http://www.barefeats.com/rad9800s.html

    [edit: you could also get a radeon 9200 (PCI)]

    [edit2: I love your sig, btw.. check out the top link in mine :D]
     
  3. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #3
    You won't get better performance on a G4 with a rad9200pci compared to a rad9000agp..
    It would be waste of money...
    Unfortunately there are no cards between(performance wise) the rad9000 and rad9800, except you can get a rad 9600, but you'll have to mod it.
     
  4. slughead macrumors 68030

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #4
    It has twice the VRam though, and you wouldn't have to replace the 9000 (for a total of 4 monitor capability!).
     
  5. jackieonasses macrumors 6502a

    jackieonasses

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Location:
    the great OKLAHOMA....
    #5
    I would take a guess and say, because of the longer piplines in the 5200,yes the 5200 would make a decent improvement.
     
  6. QCassidy352 thread starter macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #6
    It's a single processor 1.25 Ghz MDD powermac... so the 5200 will work? I know the Radeon 9000 currently in there is a 4X APG, but it will take an 8X card? Thanks for the replies. (glad someone appreciates the sig slughead :) )
     
  7. slughead macrumors 68030

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #7
    You need 8x AGP to run the 5200.


    I thought the MDD had 8x AGP but apple-history.com says otherwise:
    http://www.apple-history.com/frames/body.php?page=gallery&model=g4_mirror

    I'm currently looking for another source, because I don't think that's right.
     
  8. slughead macrumors 68030

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #8
    I'm so sorry.

    I thought it had 8x AGP but apparently the 1.25 Ghz MDD powermac does not have it.

    I did look up the specs, in case you're wondering.:
    http://manuals.info.apple.com/Apple_Support_Area/Manuals/desktops/PowerMacG4DualSU.PDF

    It's a good thing you asked me a 2nd time, otherwise I would've just assumed.

    So to sum up: The 1.25Ghz MDD Powermac cannot use the 5200.
     
  9. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #9
    i wouldnt bother the 5200 vs 9000 isnt going to show much, they both are in the same performance category and the 9000 is years old. not at all like my 6800gt ;)
     
  10. QCassidy352 thread starter macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #10
    Oh, that's ok. I looked on everymac.com and saw the same thing that you found on applehistory.com... but I too thought it was wrong. No big deal. :)
     

Share This Page