radeon

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by me hate windows, Dec 13, 2002.

  1. me hate windows macrumors 6502

    me hate windows

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    #1
    Is there any way to use a PC version of a graphics card in a Mac? I want an 8500, the Mac version is 250-300 U.S. and you can get the windows version at Compusa for 99- a $30 dollar mail in rebate. They have all the same specs. What is the difference between them? Or is it just some way to get mac users to pay hundreds more?
     
  2. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #2
    i really think it would work, as long as you dont have a apple monitor. go for it.

    iJon
     
  3. me hate windows thread starter macrumors 6502

    me hate windows

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    #3
    what would an apple monitor have to do with it? Wouldnt it be the computer that matters? because you can plug in almost any VGA monitor and it will work.

    ??????????????????????????????????????????
     
  4. irmongoose macrumors 68030

    irmongoose

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Location:
    Sometimes Tokyo, sometimes California
    #4
    You would have to flash it to work with a Mac, dunno where to get the flasher, though.

    As for why they're so much cheaper for PCs... they're all just MEAN!!! :mad: :mad:




    irmongoose
     
  5. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #5
    well a pc card isnt going to have adc is it. so you will have to buy a ton of adapters to go with it. thats all i was saying. i didnt know you would have to flash it to work with mac though. On my pc i thought i fried my gf4. so i took a radeon 7500 out of our display mac and put it in my and it booted just fine. many its only one way though. i dont feel like switching cards in my computers, dont feel like blowing anythink up.

    iJon
     
  6. me hate windows thread starter macrumors 6502

    me hate windows

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    #6
    i don need a zillion adapters. I only need VGA and S-video. Does anyone know anything more about this?
     
  7. solvs macrumors 603

    solvs

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    LaLaLand, CA
    #7
    Go to www.xlr8yourmac.com for more info about flashing a video card bios. There are a couple of threads on this site about the process too. Do some searching. Be aware though, even if you do it right, it still may not work.

    Edit: Especially the TV-Out. It probably won't work. Best to just do some digging for a good price, or keep the AGP card you have if it's a good one and buy a PCI 7000 for the TV-Out.

    Plus, there's always eBay.
     
  8. Draft macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #8
    First off, mac pricing for video cards isn't because they are just mean. They begin by developing the card for the PC, then "port" the card to mac. I believe it is this extra development step that costs mac users money.

    Next, I've seen the Radeon 8500 around for as low as $170:

    http://dealmac.com/articles/39707.html

    As for flashing a card, I've heard mixed endings to this. I'd just pay the extra $70 and get a card that you know will work.

    Draft
     
  9. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #9
    The only thing you really get from ADC is ColorSync compatibility since the monitor and the system communicate by USB to keep the colour happy. They used to have a separate USB cable for that when they used a VGA connector for the display.
     

Share This Page