Rage 128 Pro - Fanless?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by lind0834, Sep 7, 2004.

  1. lind0834
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    #1
    So the little fan on my Rage 128 Pro in my Sawtooth has started to give up the ghost. It's really really noisy.

    I don't have any thing in any of the PCI slots so it's basically only the vid card getting cooled by the monster 120mm in the sheath. Would it be awful to just unplug the fan to keep everything quiet? I only rarely ever run anything 3D, and I can plan to never do it again.

    If there was a reliable way to remove the current heatsink fan, I could replace it with a fat old Athlon Heatsink minus the fan, and I know that would do just fine.
     
  2. IJ Reilly
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #2
    Not all of the RagePro 128 cards even had fans, so I'm guessing you'd be okay provided you're not running the Mac for long hours in a warm environment. And besides, if the RagePro did give up the ghost, that'd give you a good excuse to upgrade. I think you could score a much better GeForce 4MX for around $100.00.
     
  3. hanq
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    #3
    yeah just get a new card. and the heatsink swap would work. my 128 rage pro in my cube doesn't have a fan and it's fine. and the heatsink on it is tiny too.
     
  4. Mord
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    get yourselfa radeon 9000 if you need adc or a flashed card from ebay if you do not
     
  5. cluthz
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #5
    The old Rage 128 pro in my sawtooth doesn't have a fan either.
    I replaced two years ago (when OWC had Geforce 4mx for sale ($79 i think)).
    The GF4mx is also fanless.
     
  6. spaceballl
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    spaceballl

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #6
    It also sucks.
     
  7. Jimong5
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    #7
    id be willing to sell my 9000 for $100. I recently upgraded to a 9700 and dont need it anymore. ive held off on ebay for the main reason being I dont trust it 100%. that, and im a bit lazy.
     
  8. Mord
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    I'm assuming that that is a 64MB radeon 9000, which is actually a bit faster than the 128MB 9000 at all but the highest resolutions because they downclocked it for no apparent reason probably just to piss me off.
     
  9. cluthz
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #9
    Well, the gf4mx isn't the best card around,
    but it is a HUGE step from the rage 128!
    Anyway, the computer only has 2x agp and 350-500 mhz G4,
    so there is no use to toss in more gfx-power than a gf4mx or raden 9000/8500
     
  10. Mord
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    depends on the usage as some stuff is agp bus dependent and some stuff is now.

    get a 9000 from owc or ebay or that dude.

    or if you want to save some money just put some oil in the fan motor it's not to hard to do just add a bit and spin it around.
     
  11. Dreadnought
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #11
    Don't put too much oil in, else the inside of your machine is covered with it! A drup is already too much!! It could also be a bearing, in that case oil doesn't work.
     
  12. Forced Perfect
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Forced Perfect

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada.
    #12
    The ADC port doesn't work on a Sawtooth. Sawtooth's don't have the special 28 volt* addition to the AGP port to support a powered monitor via ADC. I think you can get around that using a powered adapter, but that's kind of pointless.


    As for the fans, I know the Rage 128 Pro's almost always have fans, but the first Sawtooth G4s shipped with plain Rage 128's that never have fans.

    I have two Pros one with a fan and one without. Oh, my Radeon 9000 Pro doesn't have one, either. 8500's do, though.




    *I think it is 28 volt.
     

Share This Page