Railroad Tycoon for Free

Discussion in 'Games' started by SpankyPenzaanz, Nov 30, 2006.

  1. SpankyPenzaanz macrumors 6502a

    SpankyPenzaanz

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #1
  2. Kolind macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #2
    I'll definitely get this - one my all time favourite games!

    Thanks for the info.
     
  3. FleurDuMal macrumors 68000

    FleurDuMal

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    London Town
    #3
    My favourite game available for free on my least favourite operating system only.

    The moral dilemma :(
     
  4. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #4
    I just downloaded it for Windows, when you start it up it runs DOSBox, which I think is available for Mac too so you could probably get it working in OS X easily enough.
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    Wow there is a DOSBox for OS X. It's PowerPC though. :(
     
  6. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    Yeah but it should be able to run under Rosetta all right, shouldn't it? It does seem kind of silly though, x86 emulating PPC emulating x86! Since the game was made for DOS, I doubt you'd suffer any performance issues!!
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    Oh it runs fine via Rosetta.

    Q might be a better option though.
     
  8. gadgetgirl85 macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #8
    I'd love to be able to play this but I have no idea how to set it up on my Mac :(
     
  9. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    1. DOSBox
    2. Q
    3. Parallels
    4. Boot Camp
     

Share This Page