Railroad Tycoon without CD

Discussion in 'Games' started by blackbird71, Jan 24, 2005.

  1. blackbird71 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    #1
    I see a patch for RT3 for PC to run it without having to have a disk in the CD. Is there one for Mac.
     
  2. white1827 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    #2
    These "patches" are just hacks for using unlicensed versions of the software.
     
  3. blackbird71 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    #3
    Well I just brought it and will not play or use any product that has to have a CD all the time in my Powerbook....
     
  4. blackbird71 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    #4
    Thanks all,, But I just returned it.
     
  5. applekid macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
  6. blackbird71 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    #6
    For what, I will not carry around a CD just to play a game. Besides the game is history. I returned it.
     
  7. davidwes macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    #7
    A disc image means you would not have to use the cd at any time! Its a file on your hard drive that acts like a cd.
     
  8. Eevee macrumors 6502a

    Eevee

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Location:
    New Haven, CT
    #8

    But doesn't this mean 300 MB of your hard drive will be used? And this sometimes doesn't always work for all games?
     
  9. applekid macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    #9
    It's worth a try and yes it takes up hard disk space, but relative to the size of your HD, it shouldn't be too bad.

    Well, if you put it that way, you're pretty much just trying to pirate the game if you returned it to who- or whatever.

    And a disk image does not mean you carry around the CD. It's a virtual disk.
     
  10. blackbird71 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    #10
    I returned it because of some ****ed up programming on their part. :mad: I am not a gamer, I wanted something to play on my Powerbook.

    Anyway, I trashed it and got my money back.
     
  11. yoda13 macrumors 65816

    yoda13

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Location:
    Texas
    #11
    Too bad, its a fun game.
     
  12. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #12
    Aside from the feeling this is not allowed on MR, I don't think there is a patch.
     
  13. yoda13 macrumors 65816

    yoda13

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Location:
    Texas
    #13
    Yeah, I think it borders on a how-to question about pirating the software, which may not have been the intention at all, but it does kind of feel that way :confused:
     
  14. applekid macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    #14
    Did it run terribly? If so, what kind of system specs?
     
  15. yoda13 macrumors 65816

    yoda13

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Location:
    Texas
    #15
    Hmmm, I am confused I guess, I thought he was saying it was lousy programming because it won't run without the cd :confused:
     
  16. applekid macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    #16
    Maybe I'm the one interpreting it wrong. :confused: :D
     
  17. yoda13 macrumors 65816

    yoda13

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Location:
    Texas
    #17
    It could just as easily be me interpreting wrong :D
     
  18. blackbird71 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    #18
    Right the bad programming was requiring the CD. :(
     
  19. applekid macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    #19
    Alright. Fair enough. I don't see how that's enough to prevent you from playing a game, but if that's the way you feel, that's quite alright.

    But, requiring a CD is going to be the norm for a long while. Just be sure to yell at those pirates when you get a chance to. Either the pirates go kaput or developers/publisher have some easy and fair copyright protection.
     
  20. blackbird71 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    #20
    No but any product by MacSoft will not be brought by me, or any product that requires a stupid CD in it will not be brought by me.
     

Share This Page