RAM for Dual 2ghz G5

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by joecool85, Nov 14, 2006.

  1. macrumors 65816

    joecool85

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Maine
    #1
    Crucial lists PC4000 (500mhz) as well as PC3200 (400mhz) for my Power Mac. It has 1gb of PC3200 in it right now. I always thought that you wanted your RAM to be AT LEAST as fast as your FSB. Well...my FSB is 1ghz per processor. SO, would it be a good idea to run PC4000 RAM as opposed to PC3200? From what I gather if I mix them, it will just run the RAM at 400mhz. So would it be substantially faster with say, 1gb of PC4000 as ooposed to 1gb of PC3200 ?
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    disconap

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    With a G5 you should always buy the RAM speciified by the specs of your machine.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    #3
    Disconap is right, the G5's are very cranky about ram, install identical sizes, identical speeds from identical manufacturers in matched pairs. I would be very careful about mixing speeds. With the G5 I don't think you will get any benefit with the PC4000 chips. In fact, my distributor only sells 3200 for the G5.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 65816

    joecool85

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Maine
    #4
    Good to know. But I won't be installing same manufacturer or chips, because it has 1gb of Apple RAM in there, and my next sticks will probably be crucial, they will be a matched set however.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    #5
    That should work; I checked further, the 4000 will not yield you any advantage.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 65816

    joecool85

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Maine
    #6
    Thanks, I appreciate it. The PC3200 is substantially cheaper as well, so its good to know that its the stuff I want in there haha. I know what'll be on my christmas list this year. Lets see, I have 6 slots open...
     
  7. macrumors regular

    theblotted

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #7
    if price is an issue, i'd suggest www.dealram.com, so you can find the cheapest... i got mine thru 18004memory.com, i've dealt with them for 4 years, and always gave good service as well as lifetime warranty.

    they even buy your RAM, in case you want to sell your apple RAM and have all same manufacture RAM in your G5.

    FWIW, i had PC3200 DDR RAM for my old G5 Dual 2.5GHz.
     

Share This Page