RAM: Is this it? How much can I sell 2x512 OEM Apple RAM?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bembol, Sep 8, 2006.

  1. bembol macrumors 65816

    bembol

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #1
  2. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
  3. Steve Jobless macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    #3
    if you were in the states i would offer to buy one stick from you
     
  4. Virtualball macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    #4
    If you were in the states, Id give you like 60 dollars lol. Because for 90 you can get a 1 gig stick and 1 stick is MUCH better then two. Becuase with two, if you want to upgrade to 2 Gigs, you need to throw both out.
     
  5. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #5
    Don't sell the original Apple RAM. If you ever need to have your system repaired you will need to swap the original RAM back in before sending it off. Otherwise they can't eliminate the 3rd party RAM as a cause and won't be able to fix your Mac.
     
  6. thebeephaha macrumors 6502

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle WA
    #6
    LOL...

    WRONG. 1 Stick = NO DUAL CHANNEL OPERATION = SLOWER

    Even most newbs know that, its well documented since the beginning of DDR and dual channel.
     
  7. matttrick macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    #7
    if you dont plan on upgrading any further, i would agree. but being as macbooks only have 2 slots, and for the minimal speed increase you get, i think if you have any possibility of wanting to upgrade, its better to get a single stick.
     
  8. bembol thread starter macrumors 65816

    bembol

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #8
    So is this the RAM for my MacBook...the Link I posted...???



    I have Apple Care...thanks for the warning...!!!
     
  9. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #9
    It certainly looks like it - all the specs are correct.


    No worries, hold onto your Apple RAM - it will come in handy.
     
  10. FredClausen macrumors regular

    FredClausen

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Location:
    KALM
    #10
    Sorry but that just doesn't sound right. I'm sure at the AppleCare facilities they do have replacement RAM they can swap in and diagnose problems with.

    Any proof of your claim?
     
  11. purelithium macrumors 6502

    purelithium

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Kingston, Canada
    #11
    it says it on the apple support website. At least one apple branded ram stick must remain in the computer when sent in for repair.
     

Share This Page