RAM issue

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by doug.hall, Nov 29, 2005.

  1. doug.hall macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #1
    I have just added 1gb of RAM to my powerbook however I only ever have about 50 mb free. At the moment over 850 mb has a status of inactive but I only have safari, mail and itunes running. Is this normal?
     
  2. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #2
    doing a search for Inactive RAM would have been better than making the millionth thread on this.

    If you have a lot of pageouts in a short amount of time then you need more RAM
     
  3. Will Cheyney macrumors 6502a

    Will Cheyney

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #3
    What are you using to get these statistics?
    Are you trying to say that 850MB of RAM are being used, with nothing but the Finder and those apps running?
     
  4. doug.hall thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #4
    I'm getting the stats from Activity monitor. And yes that's all that is running on my machine. Does this seam right to you? Any suggestions?
     
  5. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    Inactive RAM is basically equivalent to Free RAM.

    It's RAM that has been asked for by an App, but isn't in use and won't be until it's either requested by another app or the original requesting app. Ultimately, it should be counted with your "Free" RAM as free RAM.
     
  6. OutThere macrumors 603

    OutThere

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    A simple search will yield great results sometimes.

    This has been discussed uncountable times.
     

Share This Page