Ram question for dual core G5

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by dodgesarkoy, Nov 3, 2005.

  1. dodgesarkoy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    #1
    Im about to purchase a 2.3GHz Dual-core PowerPC G5, and it's really going to set me back but i want her to scream, and i cant afford to put all the ram i want to. But like any computer theres places that sell ram everywhere. But i've heard stories of peoples Macs getting wrecked because they got the wrong ram or it wasnt a 100% compatable with there mac. Can someone help me out with this cause i really dont know a whole lot about this one. I looked into it and i believe there using infineon chipsets in the new dual cores. I could be wrong though. But if anyone knows of a very good mac module website or of a website that handles ram that is 100% compatable please let me know because it would really help me with the cost.
    Thanks.
    Dodge Sarkoy
     
  2. strider42 macrumors 65816

    strider42

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    #2
    if your buying ram and want a good place that stands behind its products, crucial.com is the place.
     
  3. macmanmatty macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Location:
    I have calculated my velocity so precisely that a
    #3
    I have always just used el chepo ram from new egg and it works like a charm in my macs
     
  4. dodgesarkoy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    #4
    Newegg

    i was thinking of going through newegg. My friend at work had suggested them. He uses them for his power book, and his g5. SO you've never had any thing fail on you? im getting the shivers. I do visual effects and have done all my work in maya, and after effects on pc for the last couple of years on PC. Going Mac is like never going back. And this new dual core is gonna have to sit on a bullet proof vest its gonna be so hot to trott. Thanks guys. Keep the suggestions flowing please. If anyone has more. So far so good.

    Dodge Sarkoy
     
  5. Makosuke macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #5
    I buy RAM for myself, the occasional home user client or friend, and on a regular basis for work, and whether it's for a Mac or a PC I break it down like this:

    If quality is more important than price, I go with Crucial.com -- they sell "brand name" memory for not all that much more than generic, they of course have a lifetime warranty, and their memory picker is quite good (so you can be *almost* certain that the RAM you're buying is compatible with your particular Mac, and they'll have to replace it if it's not).

    If price is the primary concern, then I go with DMS (datamem.com); it's house-brand memory, but they still offer a lifetime warranty (and they've been around for quite some time so the'll probably still be there if you need to get it replaced), I've never had a problem with it in the 6 years I've been putting it in Macs, their prices are quite good, and again they have a pretty good memory picker (there's even a very easy to navigate Mac-only section).

    In your case, a pair of non-ECC 512MB sticks will run you $98 at DMS and $132 at Crucial; ECC adds $10 a stick at Crucial, if you really want it. Were it I I'd probably go with Crucial just to be extra careful (that's what I put in my 1st gen G5), but the DMS will almost certainly work fine, too (the price difference is bigger on RAM for older computers).
     
  6. issicus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    #6
    yeah i got 1gb and the damn thing started booting with this screen that said to restart.. dunno why. so i got some more and put that in, same thing. but i got it to work through some kind of voodoo. just watch out g5s are the most tweeky machine in existence.
     
  7. rickvanr macrumors 68040

    rickvanr

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Brockville
    #7
    I got a G5 last revision, and just strolled down to my local PC vendor and picked up 2GB of RAM. Worked flawlessly.
     
  8. Dark macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #8
    I just ordered a 1 gig ram stick from Crucial. I've heard really great things about them and I decided to spend the extra money to know that im getting good stuff.
     
  9. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #9
    You don't want ECC RAM unless you're setting up a server.

    DMS's DDR-2 memory for the PowerMac G5 dualcore are the genuine Samsung DDR-2 modules, no worries about quality or compatibility. I would pick the DMS over the Crucial, frankly.

    Thanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com
     
  10. Mhaddy macrumors 6502

    Mhaddy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #10
    I recently ordered two 512MB sticks from Crucial.com (using their Memory Advisor Tool) to stick in my new 2.0DC PowerMac. I installed them a few days ago and she's purring now :D.
     

Share This Page