RAM question re old iMac

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by macadd1ct, Jan 21, 2007.

  1. macadd1ct macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    #1
    I have been given an old indigo iMac (G3?) with only 64MB of RAM.. sorry if this is a silly question, but can I buy any RAM for it.. or is there a specific type for this computer..?
    The plan is to fix it up for a child to word process on and surf the net.. no big plans for anything else. Seems a shame to throw it out.
    Regards :)
     
  2. macadd1ct thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    #2
    surely someone knows the answer to this?
    Please help :)
     
  3. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #3
    Hmmmm, You need to learn some patience.

    But if the iMac is an Indigo (either 350MHz or 400MHz) you'll need:

    168-pin, 64-bit-wide 8ns PC100 SDRAM (3.3v)

    Ebay would be the best place to get it.
    Crucial sell it but it's quite expensive.
     
  4. Killyp macrumors 68040

    Killyp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    #4
    Sure you can! I've got 512 MB of RAM in mine, and it runs fantastically.

    It will take up to 1 GB, but Tiger runs pretty well on mine, not sure 1 GB would make a difference because I suspect the graphics processing is holding it back...
     
  5. spork183 macrumors 6502a

    spork183

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    #5
    www.dealram.com

    plug in the model and processor, they'll give you a list with prices. You are probably looking at pc100 or pc 133. Is this a slot load cd, or a tray load cd? slot loads are simple to upgrade memory. tray loads are more of a pain. the processors slower than 350mhz are tray load. 350 and higher were slot load.
     
  6. macadd1ct thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    #7
    hehe.. sorry.. thanks everyone. your advice is appreciated :)
     
  7. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #8
  8. macadd1ct thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    #9
    its a slot load.. i will look up the specs and hit the website you mentioned..
    ps.. who has patience these days ;) ??
     
  9. spork183 macrumors 6502a

    spork183

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    #10
    that link is for the slot-load. good luck. The same ram was used for the imac g3 350-700.
     

Share This Page