RAM question

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by gernb, Jan 17, 2003.

  1. gernb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    #1
    Pardon my ignorance...

    I've got a dual 500 G4 tower. Just loaded up RAM. I know the specs for my machine say that it will only take 1.5 GB. I have all four slots filled with 512 / 512 / 512 / 256 respectively.

    I'm running Jaguary and About This Mac tells me it sees 1.75 GB of memory.

    Is the computer really using that last 256 MB dimm, or does it only recognize that it's there?
     
  2. Bradcoe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Location:
    Northeast U.S.
    #2
    yup

    if the OS recognizes it, then its being address mapped and used.
     
  3. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    Re: yup

    More like it it *can* be used. But you'd have to be doin' some serious work to use all 1.75gigs.


    Lethal
     
  4. will macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    #4
    Type 'top' in a terminal and look at the memory usage if you want to be sure. For example the machine I'm currently on is a 256M iBook and top says:

    PhysMem: 30.4M wired, 126M active, 82.1M inactive, 238M used, 17.6M free

    So you can see I have 256M (238 of it used and 17.6M free).

    See man top for more details.
     
  5. mc68k macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #5
    the 1.5GB limit was not HW but rather OS specific. the unix core of X should be able to take advantage of all of it.
     
  6. gernb thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002

Share This Page