Ram Question?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by imacintel, Apr 30, 2006.

  1. imacintel macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    #1
    I am a cheapy person and wondering if my iMac Core Duo will accept RAM from GB micro? Also, will it accept 400 MhZ Ram?? Or do I have to get 667 MhZ like my stock 512 MB?

    Please help.

    I normally have iTunes, Safari, aMSN, and some other stuff and i Am needing more than the stock 512! I am afraid to open QuickTime with those three apps open. My ram will explode. OMG safari is a ram hog!
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    You really have to specify which RAM from GB Micro, they carry 3 or 4 brands and several thousand modules...

    Your Mini intel takes 667 MHz RAM. Another poster has experimented with installing a pair of 533 MHz RAM, which the machine apparently works with, by downclocking the buss. Given the importance of the RAM to the embedded video, this is IMO a stunningly bad idea.

    400 MHz RAM is right out.

    And your 2 RAM modules need to match for speed, so just stick with the 667 MHz. Choose a reputable vendor who tests and guaranteed compatibility with your model Mac, offers a lifetime warranty and a no-cost return if it doesn't work.

    Thanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com
     
  3. thewhitehart macrumors 6502a

    thewhitehart

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Location:
    The town without George Bailey
    #3
    Try this link out. This is the ram stick I got for my 17" imac core duo. Works perfectly at a great price.

    512MB Corsair Ram
     
  4. imacintel thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    #4
    Here is the RAM I want:

    The Link
    http://www.staples.ca/ENG/Catalog/cat_sku.asp?CatIds=&webid=583524&affixedcode=WW
     
  5. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    Worth mentioning that Corsair does not guarantee compatibility with Macs on the ValueSelect line. In the USA, guaranteed compatible RAM is available for $8 more (calculated with shipping)

    OK, well that's absolutely the wrong RAM for your machine. It's a DDR DIMM, not a DDR2 SODIMM
    That will fit a G4 Mini (coincidentally - but it is not compatibility guaranteed).

    I repeat, get your RAM from a seller who knows what a Mac is and will stand behind their product's compatibility.
     
  6. imacintel thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    #6
    Thanks. I will check CompuSmart's Website(for you americams, that is CompUSA in Canada.
     
  7. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #7
    May I suggest you buy from CanadaRAM? ;)

    They definitely know what they're doing...
     
  8. imacintel thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    #8
  9. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #9
    The photo on CompuSmart.ca is NOT of RAM that is compatible with your iMac Intel or Mini intel. The photo is of a DIMM, not a SODIMM, Now this may simply be an error on their website, but is is still an important problem because "No detailed description exists for this product.". If you need it today, and you're going to go to a B&M CompuSmart that has stock, then make sure what you are getting is the 667 MHz SODIMM.

    If you are planning to buy online, there are other places (ahem) that have the correct RAM for $10 less... PM me if you need more information.

    Thanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com
     

Share This Page