Ram ?s

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by nate13, Mar 1, 2004.

  1. nate13 macrumors 6502

    nate13

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    #1
    2 ?s

    1. can i use highter rated ram (2700) in my iMac which uses 2100?

    2. Is it possible to access the long dimm slot so i can upgrade to a full 1 gb? (please post link/ pics if possible)

    thanx in advance
    ;)
     
  2. mklos macrumors 68000

    mklos

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    My house!
    #2
    I don't think there is any problems using PC2700 DDR SODIMMs in your iMac. My 1 GHz iMac has PC2700 DDR RAM in it. That RAM came free with the iMac. However you will NOT see any speed improvements by using the faster RAM.

    Yes it is possible to access the inside of your iMac. I WILL void the warranty on it unless you take it to an authorized Apple service center and have them do it. So if you screw something up taking it apart or putting it back together YOU will have to pay for it to get fixed.

    Here is the link to take your iMac apart:

    http://www.xlr8yourmac.com/systems/iMac_g4/imacg4_takeapart.html
     
  3. nate13 thread starter macrumors 6502

    nate13

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    #3
    dont think so!

    Two words
    yeah right!!
    im going to my local mac store for that, and that sadly will cost an extra 50-100$ (idk)
    it made sense to be able to use 2700 tho,
    thanx :D
     
  4. UKMacBod macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    #4

    I can't see any technical reason why you can't use higher rated RAM, but it will not actually run at the higher rate in your system, it will speed-down to the 2100 rate I believe...
     
  5. mklos macrumors 68000

    mklos

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    My house!
    #5

    Ok, remember that taking your iMac apart voids your warranty! Don't screw it up!
     

Share This Page