ram upgrade on ibook g4 1,2 gHz

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by mackecco, Dec 28, 2004.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    #1
    Hi all!
    I am a new mac user, I bougth an ibook g4 1,2 gHz on december the 3rd; I'd like to upgrade the ram and two days ago I bougth this module from an italian shop:
    Kingmax MSDC22D-38KX SODDR-266 512MB KINGMAX TBGA 200PIN.

    My ibook doesn't want to recognize it; if I rebbot with the cd for the hardware test it recognize the module during the test but says that there is an error on the start procedure and the mac os always shows the 256 ram amount.
    What could be wrong? I'm pretty sure I have done everything in the right way... :(

    Do you know a ram that works good with an ibook g4 1,2 ghz?

    Please help me!

    thank you very much!!

    Francesco
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    Littleodie914

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #2
    Hmm... Right off hand I don't see anything wrong with the RAM you bought. I've never heard of Kingmax... Are they a reputable company? Here's the Crucial page that tells you what type of RAM your iBook will take. If all else fails, and you truly do have the right RAM, try just taking it back and getting a new stick from a different company. I bought a 512MB stick for my iMac from PNY (at our local Best Buy), and it's working just great.
     
  3. Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #3
    You don't have it seated all the way.

    When you put it into the slot, you should have no more than a sliver of the gold connectors showing once installed...

    I had a bugger with this when I installed my RAM into the iBook.

    Push it in hard, and then snap it down.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    #4
    yeah...i don't think its' in properly either.

    i use that exact ram in my ibook and first time it didnt' show up so i checked it again and needed to push it in a little further til it sorta clicked into place.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    #5
    on the subject of ram upgrades if i stick in another 256 or 512 of memory in what kind of speed increase should i expect to get
     
  6. mms
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    CA
    #6
    OS X loves RAM, so the general rule is the more the better.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    #7
    mm...i used a p3 550 running winxp for 2-3 years before i got my ibook in november...everything was alright except for playing games or any hardcore editing stuff...there was probably a small delay to open things like email and webstuff but i got used to it and when i switched to mac, my ibook felt like the same speed wiht 256ram. but i decdied to get more because i wanted to enjoy the whole mac experneice (lol) and now everything is quick and i don't have to worry abou waiting for things to open or close (except safari which is weird)...and i can run multiply stuff without lag. so i think it's pretty worth it. i c an definitely feel the diff. i bought a stick of 512. :p
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    #8
    thanx!!

    yesssss!
    As you suggested i pushed it (I was afraid of breaking something)..and..everything is fine!!

    :D :D :D

    thank you!!!

    F
     
  9. Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    #10
    Ram in that dim

    You gotta ram the sucker in hard! And boy those screws are ridiculously small!!

    I must say that even with the upgrade the performance on the ibook is rather dissapointing.. It's still a decent deal for the price but it ain't a screamer...

    I do like the battery life and I wonder if the additional ram will reduce the battery life noticably..

    TIP: Keep your airport off unless you are using it, it's a power-bitch..
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Mertzen

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Location:
    ]KLGA[
    #11
    It always amazes me how much force you need to insert SODIMMs .. well good that is is working now ..
     

Share This Page