Ram upgrades

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Togglehead, Mar 21, 2006.

  1. Togglehead macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Location:
    Jersey
    #1
    I have the 300MHz Wallstreet.....what kind of RAM do i need?

    Im assuming due to the 66MHz FSB, PC100 would be fine....but whats the difference in high/low profile ram?
     
  2. frankblundt macrumors 65816

    frankblundt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    South of the border
    #2
    is that this one?

    Some solutions here - PC100 SO-DIMM

    some macs are so tight for space they need thinner than normal RAM DIMMs to fit the space
     
  3. frankblundt macrumors 65816

    frankblundt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    South of the border
    #4
    sorry. looks like the same RAM tho.

    looks like they think it will take high and low profile, i'd go low, just in case. (the price is the same)
     
  4. Togglehead thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Location:
    Jersey
    #5
    good to know...thanks....

    wow...this things was 5 grand when it came out :eek:
     
  5. Togglehead thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Location:
    Jersey
    #6
    Expansion Slots

    Ok...these SORTA look like PCMCIA slots like on a PC laptop...are they?

    Im lookin gto get a wireless card for my new laptop and dont know exactly what to buy....
     
  6. iPhil macrumors 68040

    iPhil

    #7
    If you got a PB G3 circa '98 [Wallstreet] then 2 slots for Ram the spec for the ram is PC100/144pin SO-DIMM .. 512MB Max total Ram (256MB per slot)
     
  7. Togglehead thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Location:
    Jersey
    #8
    awesome thanks.....ill post that in a new thread...actually...i thought i did....oops
     
  8. frankblundt macrumors 65816

    frankblundt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    South of the border
    #9
    Apple's RAM guide for Powerbook G3s.

    Their info on Communications, suggests it is indeed a PC Card/Card Bus slot (they talk about using it for a modem) so i guess you could get a wireless card in there..
     

Share This Page