RAM Usage question

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Jamesw, Sep 29, 2006.

  1. Jamesw macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    #1
    I am using iStat Pro and I have 512MB RAM on my MBP. It says that 85 is being used for Wired, 202 is being used for Active, 217 is being used for Inactive. Which means I only have like 8MB left of memory. What is the Wired and inactive being used for? The only applications i have open are Safari and MSN Messenger. Is it time for me to upgrade to 2GB RAM? Because right now it is quite sluggish. I cant even open Garage Band yet alone make music on it.
     
  2. Unorthodox macrumors 65816

    Unorthodox

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Location:
    Not at the beach...
    #2
    "Wired" and "Active" RAM are the only ones that actually use RAM.
    To see how much RAM you have ready and available, add together the "Free" RAM, and the "Inactive" RAM.
     
  3. 2nyRiggz macrumors 603

    2nyRiggz

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Location:
    Thank you Jah...I'm so Blessed
    #3
    Give it a restart and see if you get back your RAM. That inactive ram can still be used by the system whenever. I'm guessing you haven't given the machine a restart in a while..:)


    Bless
     
  4. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #4
    You can learn about what the different categories are here. 512 MB of RAM really isn't enough for the Intel Macs to function properly, so you should consider upgrading. Take a look at your page ins/outs in Activity Monitor...if you have a fair number of page outs, you should invest in more RAM...watch the ratio page ins to page outs. If the ratio gets below maybe 4:1 or 3:1, it's time to think about more RAM. But the best indicator is your user experience...if it feels sluggish and you're getting lots of "beachballing," that's a good sign that more RAM will help.
     
  5. pianoman macrumors 68000

    pianoman

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    #5
    whenever my RAM usage gets too low i repair disk permissions. someone told me it doesn't do a darn thing, but i always have more RAM available afterwards. a log out or a restart always works, too.
     

Share This Page