RAM worked in G4 but not eMac

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by thereisnoneed, Apr 2, 2004.

  1. thereisnoneed macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    #1
    I just upgraded my system so I too a 512 stick of ram out of my old G4 to put in my brothers eMac. The memory worked fine in my G4(AGP graphics) but the eMac 1ghz does not seem to see it.

    Do these two machines not take the same type of memory?
     
  2. blue&whiteman macrumors 65816

    blue&whiteman

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    #2
    I think what the emac takes is closer to powerbook/ibook ram. not 100% sure though.
     
  3. MontgomeryBurns macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    #3
    They're both pc133 3.3v unbuffered 8-byte non-parity 168 pin sdram.

    User exists.
     
  4. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #4
    The early G4 PowerMacs used PC100, with tight tolerances which quite a bit of PC memory didn't pass after firmware/OS updates.

    So Apple changed the 100MHz bus machines to requiring PC133 memory -- so there may be PC100 in some of the 100MHz FSB machines.
     
  5. flyfish29 macrumors 68020

    flyfish29

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Location:
    New HAMpshire
    #5
    Did you try resetting the memory a couple of times to be sure that it was seated properly when installed?

    You might check to be sure the memory didn't get zapped by reinstalling in your G4 just to be sure.

    Look up on Crucial.com which type of memory each uses.
     

Share This Page