1. zap2 macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #1
    So my brother set up is a iMac G4 1.24 17'' 256mb running 10.4.2 he needs more ram, he knows it but he is not getting any so with enought people here on the forums telling him that he needs more then anything else for his iMac he might get it!! So just list as many reason as you can why he needs more ram( he runs FireFox,AIM,iTunes,Pages and iMoive or iDVD alot and QT or WMP)
    and if you do not have a reason just tell him to gte more RAM!!!

    I know is is a different type of post but i need you help!!


    Thanks!!
     
  2. FFTT macrumors 68030

    FFTT

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    #2
    Dear Brother,


    YOU NEED MORE RAM! :D

    You should be running at least 512 MB and preferably 1GB, but if you're not
    running any heavy applications 512 will do.
     
  3. Heb1228 macrumors 68020

    Heb1228

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    #3
    He should to upgrade to at least 768MB. I would not run Tiger using less than 512, the computer is crippled with pageins/pageouts.
     
  4. powerbook911 macrumors 68040

    powerbook911

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #4
    Dear Sir,

    Just look at Apple's products today. They come with OS X Tiger, that you are running, but they all come with 512 MB of memory. Why? Apple does not want to embarrass themselves. Tiger is simply not effective, with 256 MB of memory. It makes everything slow and less efficient.

    Try it. Add some memory to your imac. You'll be blown away at what your computer is capable of performing. It doesn't matter if you're using basic programs, any program, within Tiger, will feel a *lot* better, with more memory.
     
  5. shadowmoses macrumors 68000

    shadowmoses

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    #5
    I have to agree in the first few days i had my Mac Mini i was running it with 256mb RAM and the poor thing was a slug (the beautiful OS is completely crippled with 256), it struggled in most basic tasks, like opening preview or playing a AVI while surfing the web....

    Boosted it to 512mb and it works soooo much better, i am thinking of swapping that for a gig and this little baby will motor,

    Tell your bro to put in another 512mb chip and get 768mb for the iMac...

    ShadOW
     
  6. homerjward macrumors 68030

    homerjward

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Location:
    fig tree
    #6
    the "i have more RAM than you" factor.
    he's losing. big time.
    *has 2gb of ram :D*
     
  7. iEdd macrumors 68000

    iEdd

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    Dad is doing the same with his iMac G4 at work.
    One slot is user changable, which should be empty.
    Put a 512 in. 512+256=768, which is plenty. :)
     

Share This Page