Random Complaint

Discussion in 'Politics, Religion, Social Issues' started by jamesmcd, Sep 15, 2006.

1. jamesmcd macrumors 6502a

jamesmcd

Hey all.

I am a university student and IS tutor in NZ, and I have always had a big problem with the 'culture' (so-to-speak) of most of the Asian students (mainly Chinese) when it comes to assignments and essays.

Allow me to explain...

For years now, I have had to work closely with many Chinese students both in group work (part of the curriculum of the paper), and also in tutorials. Mostly, they use me to check through their work to fix the English before handing in group assignments.

This culture which I am speaking of, is that every single, I repeat, every single Chinese student I have worked with while at University has tried to plagiarize in their assignments. As a student, it is annoying as I have to get them to cite everything or do it myself. As a tutor, I not only have to fail them for that assignment, but stick it on their record, report to the higher authority etc.

As several tutors have suggested in the past (we meet often), they do it perhaps because their English isn't good enough to hand in something that is completely their own work. We note however, that there are 3rd year students (living in NZ for 3 years!) that still cannot write decent English.

Our University (and many others in NZ) use turnitin.com to check for plagiarism, however sometimes it's just so obvious. For instance, half of the essay will be highly ambiguous, unreadable English, and the other half will be absolutely perfect English. You don't have to be a genius to work it out. Stick any of the good English into Google/TurnItIn, and you guessed it, someone else's work.

My Father who is actually a University lecturer had to just recently fail a masters student because his entire thesis was copied! The document came back from TII completely marked red!!