RapidIO inquiry

Discussion in 'Hardware Rumors' started by geephore, Dec 13, 2001.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    #1
    I'll try to make this short.

    Does anybody know (or think) whether the RapidIO Interconnect Architecture will be included in the G5s, and if so, will it be compatible with the established Firewire standard?

    If it is, at 16 GB/sec you could put all 1000 songs on your iPod in less than 1/3 of a second.
    Thanks
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #2
    Does anybody know (or think) whether the RapidIO Interconnect Architecture will be included in the G5s?
    Yes it is included on the G5 Road Map.

    http://e-www.motorola.com/webapp/sps/site/overview.jsp?nodeId=03M943030450467M983989030230

    I don't know if Firewire would even communiate with RapidI/O, I think firewire communiates through a controller chip??

    It should be noted that Rapid I/O was designed for the embedded market. Too lazy to look up the links.
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    Ensign Paris

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Europe
    #3
    GigaWire

    I think that Gigawire will be 1000 (currently firewire 400)

    Thanks,
    Guy Wickenden
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    #4
    skip a generation?

    Perhaps Gigawire will be 800 and 1200 Mbps? <drooool>

    I think that it's feasible for Apple to introduce the second and third generation of FireWire at once. This would nicely trump USB2, especially in the minds of people who do not know the technical differences between the two.
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    evildead

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2001
    Location:
    WestCost, USA
    #5
    10 gigabit Ethernet

    10 gigabit Ethernet is just arround the corrner. Soon everything will be connected via a private network. All we will need a a nice hub and all will be well.
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
    #6
    except you need to compensate for those of us that basically live in the boonies-close enough to civiliation that i can get anything i need in 20 minutes, but far enough away that no high-speed anything will accomodate me.

    tear:'(
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Location:
    Texas
    #7
    Re: 10 gigabit Ethernet

    I don't see the point.. how fast is your hard drive again????

    10Gb/s = 1250MB/s
    ATA100?? i don't think so...
     

Share This Page