Readers Digest: “The iPhone is the Devil”

Discussion in 'MacBytes.com News Discussion' started by MacBytes, Dec 15, 2007.

1. macrumors bot

2. macrumors 68000

Much Ado

Irony:

The blog talks about using an iPhone to bait people into reading Reader's Digest, to make money.

The link uses the word 'iPhone' to bait people into reading the blog, which makes money.

3. macrumors 6502a

Nukemkb

I didn't know Readers Digest was still published! Maybe they're trying to be controversial to get free advertising...:p

4. macrumors G3

bigandy

^-- fixed that. :)

5. Lau

It seems to be a link that isn't about an iPhone to an article that isn't about an iPhone complaining that a magazine article that isn't about an iPhone isn't, on closer inspection, about an iPhone.

6. macrumors 603

SkyBell

I'm a pretty big fan of Reader's Digest (it's the only magazine I have a subscription too) and this surprises me.

7. macrumors 68000

Loge

Is there an abridged version of the article somewhere?

8. macrumors 65816

valdore

Whenever I hear the words "Readers Digest" I think of a bookworm with indigestion.

9. macrumors 65816

jackc

That is weird, but it's a pretty good ad for the iPhone, right under "Can't Keep Up? Get simple, get smart, stay sane"

Since the horns and tail make no sense, people will just ignore it

10. macrumors 6502a

The weirdness continues

The iPhone on the RD cover lacks YouTube and the iTunes icons, the Calculator icon is different, and it is allegedly on the Cingular network. When was that picture taken?

I'm not sure why I got an iPhone when I did, but now I have an explanation!

I signed a two-year contract and got zero discount on the equipment.
    I bought first-generation technology.
    I swore I wouldn't buy it until third-party apps were available (without hacking and playing cat-and-mouse).
    I'm paying more than ever to AT&T.

but, even though I am going against all these things I believed in, I am loving every minute of it.