Real System 7.5.3 Disk Images?

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by ReanimationLP, Jan 25, 2007.

  1. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #1
    Anyone know where to find these fellas? I have a 1400 that works, and I'd like to install an OS on it, but dont have an ethernet card nor a floppy drive. Anyone know how to accomplish this? o.o'
     
  2. FullmetalZ26 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    #2
    When I installed 7.5.3 on my PB145, I just booted from the 7.5.3 network access disk, then slowly copied the 19 disk images (from apple) over to the hard drive via floppy disk. Slow as heck, but it gets the job done.
     
  3. ReanimationLP thread starter macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #3
    Update : Well, I took the hard disk out, and popped it into my PC running MacDrive.

    It has Mac OS 7.6 installed on it. Now, why it wont boot from it is beyond me. x.x'

    I'm making a Net Install disk now and see if that will make it boot.
     
  4. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #4
    7.5.x is trash... set your goal to 7.6.1. It's like 7.5.x, only faster, more PowerPC optimized, 40x more stable, and compatible with more modern networking and stuff.
     
  5. Spock macrumors 68000

    Spock

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Vulcan
    #5
    Sorry to hijack the thread but, I am thinking about buying a 7.6 CD for my older 68000 machines I hate 7.5 I have never used 7.6 will I see better performance?
     
  6. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #6
    Yes. Be sure to follow all the setup tips at System 7 Today especially these.

    EDIT: Oh, if you literally mean 68000 as in not 68030 or 68040 - you cannot run 7.6.x on those. Also, 7.6 includes more PowerPC optimizations, so while more stable, it will not be faster 7.5.x on 68k systems.

    You should probably stick to 7.1. or some flavor of System 6 for anything with a 68000.
     
  7. madmax_2069 macrumors 6502a

    madmax_2069

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    Springfield Ohio
    #7
    yea i can say for shure that my Performa 475 full 040 40mhz cpu (25mhz right now) 132mb ram running 7.6.1 is more slow in places than a Quadra 605 (same system) full 040 (running at 33mhz) 36mb ram running 7.1 running macbench 1.0 the place that shows is copybits small (280s my system and close to 2000 the Q605) and some other places in macbench 2.0 and 3.0. but some things was more faster useing 7.6.1 useing macbench 2.0 and 3.0 compaired to a quadra 605 running 7.1 running the same versions of macbench. Mac Os 7.6-7.6.1 is more slower in places than what 7.1 is but some places is more faster.
     
  8. madmax_2069 macrumors 6502a

    madmax_2069

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    Springfield Ohio
    #8
    sorry for the DBL post but for some reason MB 1.0 is working correctly on my P475 under 7.6.1 and compairing real close now to the Q605 running 7.1 with MB 1.0 it is showinbg results where it should be now for a 25mhz full 040 system. before it was showing it being slower than a LCII. its weird but im glad things worked out ( its beyond me what was up with it causing it to score so low) but it seems like it fixed itself
     
  9. Spock macrumors 68000

    Spock

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Vulcan
    #9
    Im taking about the 68040 like a few of my Performas and a PowerBook anything with less gets 7.1 or 6 I also have a Performa 6400 and its PPC, 9 runs way slow and 7.5 well.....
     
  10. jane doe macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    #10
    i have the disk images for System 7

    PM me if you want them
     
  11. yhatware macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    #11
    Send you a message. Bit late but we hope it works
     
  12. ReanimationLP thread starter macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #12
    I was able to make the big floppy set of 7.6.

    And havent really fiddled with it since.

    Too much stuff, not enough time.

    And wow, its been over 2 years already?

    Holy crap on a shingle.
     

Share This Page