Really need some advice - don't know what to do..

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ontheuptick, Jan 27, 2006.

  1. ontheuptick macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    #1
    I have a new Intel iMac. I plugged her in and it recognized the wireless connection right away.

    My question is: My connection is really slow, like 10 KB/sec on downloads. It should be much faster than this... I remember seeing a post on here about someone having problems with the Airport wireless on their new iMac. Does someone have suggestions on what could be causing it to be slow, and what I need to do? I'm a first time mac user, so I don't know how to fix my problem...

    THANKS
     
  2. BakedBeans macrumors 68040

    BakedBeans

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    What's Your Favorite Posish
    #2
    I remember that thread too. It had something to do with the wireless security they were using - WEP or WPA, try changing yours from one to the other
     
  3. ontheuptick thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    #3
    Sorry, once again, first time mac user, how do I do that?
     
  4. BakedBeans macrumors 68040

    BakedBeans

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    What's Your Favorite Posish
    #4
    Well, im not sure how your connecting to the base station (i presume its wireless)

    If you are using an apple base station or airport express then go to finder>applications>utillities>airport admin utility. you then open it uo and change your wireless security type via a drop down box.

    If you are using another type of base station then try the software/utility that came with it
     
  5. ontheuptick thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    #5
    It's wireless. Thanks.

    Anyone else have suggestions?
     
  6. redAPPLE macrumors 68030

    redAPPLE

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Location:
    2 Much Infinite Loops
  7. BakedBeans macrumors 68040

    BakedBeans

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    What's Your Favorite Posish
    #7
    Well did you try it? because thats the problem
     
  8. ontheuptick thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    #8
    Sorry, I'm at work and not at my computer. I'll do it when I get home and let you know. You seem to be pretty confident that is it, so I'm sure it will work. Thanks.
     
  9. Daedalus256 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #9
    WEP and WPA can actually cause all sorts of wireless woes. I know that evne on my G3 Powerbook here, I had to disable WEP on my network to get my wifi adapter to work. While you may have a secure connection, some machines just have issues with them.
     

Share This Page