Really sorry, have to show this off

Discussion in 'Picture Gallery' started by edesignuk, Feb 5, 2005.

  1. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #1
    This is just too cool, iMac G5 using the dual screen hack hooked up to my 43" Plasma (running at 1280x768) getting ready to watch a DivX movie of "Jump Britain" (really good program btw, if you see it on again, WATCH IT! I missed some of it so I've got this TV rip ;)).

    Anyway, on to the shameless gloating (sorry, again)...

    [​IMG]

    :D :D :D :D :D
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    JDar

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    #2
    That's really nice!

    It's beautiful girls with long hair that make you do this, isn't it?
     
  3. thread starter Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #3
    haha, yeah, LOL :D
     
  4. mpw
    Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    #4
    Not familiar with the dual screen hack but how come your dock is on the plasma but not the iMac?
     
  5. thread starter Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #5
    I changed the main display in display prefs to be the external screen, this way when I do full screen in MPlayer to watch my video it goes full on the plasma, and not the iMac monitor.

    oh yeah, and dual hack ;)
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    atari1356

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    #6
    Very cool. Just one question though... don't plasma screens have burn-in issues, where you're not supposed to have static images (like from computers or game consoles)?
     
  7. thread starter Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #7
    If I left it on there with my desktop all day then yeah, I probably would have problems. But I only hook it up when I'm going to be watching something ;) :)
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    #8
    I gotta say that setup is sweet and Im very jealous. When I get my own pad I def want to have a nice setup like yours.
     
  9. macrumors P6

    wdlove

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    #9
    Nice job, edesignuk. You shouldn't have to say that you are sorry. It's exactly what I was expecting to see on your iMac desktop. :D
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    g30ffr3y

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    buffalo ny
    #10
    wanker.
     
  11. thread starter Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #11
    [​IMG]

    If you're joking that post needs a smilie, if not...:mad:
     
  12. macrumors 68040

    maya

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    somewhere between here and there.
    #12
    LOL at comment. :)


    Why is there ANY reason to be envy anyone for what they have, I am sure they worked hard for what they have obtained in life. If you want the same I see no reason as to why you cannot achieve the same if not better in time. :)

    What is so new about the iMac G5 doing a spanning hack on a plasma, I have seen this before? :)

    This thread is pointless gloating. :rolleyes:
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    Darwin

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    round the corner
    #13
    Looks cool

    Unfortunately I don't happen to have a 43" Plasma Screen to try it out :p
     
  14. thread starter Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #14
    I know :eek:
    Again, I know, that's why I said sorry in advance ;)
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    g30ffr3y

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    buffalo ny
    #15
    maybe ill post my powerbook playing a movie
    on my DLP projector...
     
  16. thread starter Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #16
    Well this is the Picture Gallery, and I would like to see that. So go ahead.
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    g30ffr3y

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    buffalo ny
    #17
    it wasnt really a jab at you edesign... just that guy who
    went on about working for your belongings... ive got
    belongings too... just different ones...

    im sure my projector's picture looks like straight ass crack
    compared to your plasma... but i wanted size over
    quality this time...

    no biggie... and that wanker comment was just a tiny jab...

    no offense... no worry...
     
  18. macrumors 601

    virividox

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbar
    #18
    hahah you are good at making people envious heheh :D
     
  19. macrumors 68040

    maya

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    somewhere between here and there.
    #19
    State of thinking really. ;) :)


    If he really wanted to blow peoples minds off he would have it connected to a projector and have a wall size screen. ;) :)
     
  20. macrumors 6502a

    g30ffr3y

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    buffalo ny
    #20

    that would be my setup.
     
  21. macrumors regular

    cygni

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    #21
    very nice!
    this is probably a stupid question, but is that a plasma monitor or plasma t.v.? if it's a monitor, do you have it set up for use it as a television? :confused:
     
  22. thread starter Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #22
    It's a TV, but the tuner box has a VGA input too ;)
     
  23. macrumors regular

    cygni

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    #23
    excellent, thank you. now if I only had an extra £1,500 sitting around to buy one. :)
     
  24. macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #24
    Lucky bastard.
     
  25. macrumors 604

    clayj

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    visiting from downstream
    #25
    As long as there's bragging going on... I don't have any of my computers connected to it (I could, I suppose), but here's my plasma:

    [​IMG]

    Runco 50" set... all other gear in media closet in my office... the controller for the TV has a VGA input, but I don't use it... it'd be hard to drive the computers from the living room. :)
     

Share This Page