Really weird Firefox happenings

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by VforVelveta, Feb 20, 2007.

  1. VforVelveta macrumors regular

    VforVelveta

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    #1
    Ok, so to start off, I have Macromedia flash player installed.

    If I go to youtube and search for a video, I can watch it, no problem.

    However, if I click on a link to a video (such as the ones that appear after the video is done, or links in other webpages) the page loads really weird and says "Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Macromedia's Flash Player."

    Yes, JavaScript is turned on, especially since, like I said, videos I go directly to play fine.

    Has anyone had a problem like this before, or have any clue as to why it might be happening? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #2
    Have you tried disabling JavaScript then re-enabling it?
     
  3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #3
    Also what site altering extensions (AdBlock, etc) do you use?
     
  4. VforVelveta thread starter macrumors regular

    VforVelveta

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    #4
    Well, apparently Adblock is the cause...

    I disabled it and everything worked fine, so I checked the preferences and youtube was in the block list for some reason.

    Still don't know why I could watch some videos but not others....odd..

    Anyway, thanks for the suggestions!
     
  5. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #5
    Yeah, that was what I suspected. I'm guessing that the variant of the youtube url that was wildcarded into AdBlock just matched to some YouTube pages and not all of them. When pages don't display properly, the second thing I usually check after reloading them is to see if overzealous blocking caused the problem.
     

Share This Page