Rebuild website From Flash to html 5... (Flash vs. html 5)

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by freeny, Jan 31, 2010.

1. macrumors 68020

freeny

Ok, so if apple wont be supporting Flash for the forseeable future, i assume I will need to rebuild my website from Flash to html 5.
    Here is my site-

Old Flash site-
    http://web.mac.com/moistproduction/flash_Old/index.html

New site (iweb)
    www.moistproduction.com

I like Flash's keyframe setup as well as easy methods to build rollover buttons and prebuilt simple action scripting ie "goto and stop" etc...

What is a good html 5 web building app that would hopefully give similar ease?

I am an illustrator, not a programmer, but want to be able to manage my own site...

2. Moderator emeritus

angelwatt

The HTML5 spec is still under work and browsers only have partial support for it and some have no support for it. You'll be locking out more users by using HTML5 right now than Flash. The only tools somewhat like this is Adobe's product for making Flash into iPhone apps.

3. thread starter macrumors 68020

freeny

Is there anything out currently that would be able to do the html 5 in the future similar to what I am looking for?

I could at least get the ball rolling on learning the app...

4. Moderator emeritus

angelwatt

I'd suggest learning JavaScript because that's how most of it will be done and currently can be done with without HTML5. Even CSS works really well for rollover effects. What HTML5 brings is the video tag. I suggest doing more reading so you know what HTML5 actually is because it's clear you have the wrong impressions about it. Knowledge is power.

5. thread starter macrumors 68020

freeny

My impressions of it from the current anti flash threads is that it is going to magically replace it. Is this not the case? If so there is alot of false info running rampant...