Recognizing Vista64?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MBX, Jul 29, 2008.

  1. MBX
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #1
    Just bought a Mac Pro and tried to install Vista64 Ultimate. But after partitioning BootCamp won't recognize the Vista64 CD.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #2
    Positive the DVD is ok ? Installed it on mine fine a couple times now
     
  3. MBX
    thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #3
    are you sure you're using the 64bit version?

    and you put in the installation dvd and you could actually proceed to install vista64?
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #4
    Does it have SP1 integrated? Only the original Vista disc will work.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    #5
    Didn't Apple release an update for the Boot Camp partition creation utility in Leopard? Or did they only update the drivers for Vista SP1?
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #6
    Only the drivers. MS changed the version of the EFI loader in SP1 which isn't compatible with Leopard.
     
  7. MBX
    thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #7
    well i have the sp1 version

    means i need to get the original one? and then update to sp1 through vista original install?
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #8
    Not true - I use the integrated SP1 with Vista64 on our MSDN sub fine - 64 bit Business and Enterprise - just did it the other day
     
  9. macrumors regular

    blownco

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Location:
    CA
    #9
    are you sure your giving the comp enough time to recognize it i know when i installed mine it took30 to 45 secs for the disc to show up on the desktop but it installed just fine.
     
  10. MBX
    thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #10
    yes i definitely have the disc loaded and gave it enough time to do so before i tried to proceed.

    the same happens with xp64. however with the regular 32bit it works.

    even holding down c-key in the beginning won't load the dvd, but works yet again with the xp cd.

    so what's really the case? who can i believe? with sp1 or without?

    well with sp1 as of now it doesn't work (if that's really the issue) so i guess i don't have many other options.

    ??

    thanks
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #11
    If he's just bought a *new* Mac Pro (i.e., 2008 model), it should work.

    At least, it did for me (SP1 integrated full retail disc).
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #12
    Have you tried booting with the option key, then there you should see a Windows CD in the boot device selection?
     
  13. MBX
    thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #13
    I did that but the disk didn't show up.

    I'm trying a new Vista CD soon (without the SP1) and will see what happens.
     

Share This Page