Recommend a site like flicker but more customizable

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by dimme, Dec 25, 2012.

1. macrumors 65816

I love flicker and have many photos on the site. I am a pro member and upload my own photography and plus over the last year or so I also scanned countless family photos from the last 50 years. My family is spread out over the country so it's a great way of sharing. Plus for the price it is a excellent value. I do not care for the layout and would like something more elegant. Also I would not mind a custom domain. However I see to setup my own site vis square space is in the neighborhood of $16 a month that's a bit more that the $25 a year I spend on flicker. I looked at smug mug and it looks like for $60 a year I can get what I want. Anyone have any recommendations or comments?

2. Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

I use and like smugmug, and 60 bucks a year to get what you want isn't all that much imo

3. macrumors demi-god

DirtySocks85

500px is pretty new, but starting to look promising, particularly if you're looking for something rather "elegant".

4. macrumors 68020

Hankster

I've used SmugMug for several years and I love it. It fully customizable and it doesn't cost too much. Also, I agree with the second poster. $60/yr to get "everything you want" is very cheap.

We are talking about photography. This is not a cheap interest. $60/yr is only $5 a month, That's about two cups of coffee a month or a combo meal at a fast food restaurant.

While I look for deals as well, I realize photography is not cheap and you need to spend money to get what you want. I have a full subscription to SmugMug and I don't mind spending the money at all since it gives me every custom item I could want :)

5. macrumors member

While I wouldn't call it customizable, I'm also a huge fan of 500px. It's an amazing alternative to Flickr. Way better in my opinion.

6. macrumors 6502a

100Teraflops