Recommendations.. 3 computers--setting up wireless connection

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by kevannon, Mar 12, 2007.

  1. kevannon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    #1
    I have a G4 and a PC with wireless adapter.

    Just purchased the Quad Core Intel mac pro :D
    to replace my G4, but would like to still have the G4 on my network.

    I have a wireless router & cable modem hooked up to my Mac Pro.

    I thought I would purchase the Airport Extreme card for my Mac Pro, then hook up the router to my G4. Is this the optimal solution? Better idea(s)?

    I would rather not put $ into my old G4, but would like the strongest connection, particularly for my Pro.

    Thx!

    Shannon
     
  2. slicedbread macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    #2
    if it is a router, can you not just use 2 Cat5 cables to the G4 and Mac Pro, and have them both connected via LAN cables to the router?
     
  3. kevannon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    #3
    that was simple

    Slicedbread,

    Thanks for the simple solution! And it was right under my nose...a long ethernet cable and 3 extra lan lines in my router!

    I could call myself a few names, but I won't since I didn't go make a pointless $50 purchase before posting here!

    Now I know how you got your name ;)

    Thanks!
     
  4. BoyBach macrumors 68040

    BoyBach

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #4

    Questions like this are what younger brothers were invented for.

    :D
     
  5. nightsky macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Location:
    SA,Tx
    #5
    Don't even need the cat5

    You have a dsl connection and wirless router your g4 and will hookup when u open airport wirelessly from anywhere in the house. As for the mac pro if that is a laptop too it will work wirelessly too. Why hard wire? Silly me I went a bought a new wireless router not knowing that my dsl modem broadcasts wireless signals too (
     

Share This Page