Record Audio Tapes to CDs ... ???

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by vjmacaddict, Mar 17, 2008.

  1. macrumors member

    vjmacaddict

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #1
    What would be the cheapest, easiest, and best way to record music from our audio tapes onto CDs? I would be using my G4 iBook, running OS X 10.4.11. Thanks.
     
  2. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    Life's Rulebook: Cheap, Easy, Best -- if you're lucky, you'll get 2 of the three

    The cheapest way is with a headphone-plug to 2 x RCA plug splitter cable - hook that to the playback output of your cassette deck or the record out of your receiver, and then into the Line In jack on your iBook.

    Use GarageBand if you have it or the free Audacity program to capture the audio to AIFF files.

    Use iTunes to import those AIFF files, make a playlist out of them, and then burn a CD
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    Newengland usa!
    #3
    make sure u record them into wav or aiff files so u know your getting the best quality out of them. then convert them to mp3 or what ever format u use.
    dont record them over 0db in audacity either that will distort and damage the sound quality as well
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    #4
    Well, it depends whether your ibook has an Audio-in for the Minijack plug...or not.

    Also, not knowing the quality of your headphone output of your Casetterecorder, I recommend to use an USB Audio interface of the lowcost-area like you can buy for ca 50-80€.
    It has Cinch inputs and (or not) an Line-Mic switch. Power works via USB.

    There is also an application called Vinyl which has an CCIR correction for turntables, I presume it's for free.
    But, as you has Garageband 3 at least, take it for recording your casettes.

    Check at EDIROL.com for "USB Audio interface UA-1EX"

    or similar
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    vjmacaddict

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #5
    How to Get Back Garage Band ... ???


    When I installed Tiger (erased HD) I didn't know that Tiger doesn't have Garage Band, so now I don't have Garage Band. Seems like the only way to get it back is to erase the HD, then reinstall Panther, then reinstall Tiger .... Can't do that ....

    Is there any way to get back Garage Band without having to pay for it again? I already paid for OS X 10.0, then paid for OS X Panther, then paid for OS X Tiger ... Do I have to buy OS X Leopard, just to get Garage Band? Also need iMovie, and probably several other applications ....
     

Share This Page