Recording Clavinova to iMac

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by opusthe2nd, Mar 19, 2006.

  1. opusthe2nd macrumors 6502

    opusthe2nd

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    #1
    Can anyone give me a little direction on how I can play a song on a Clavinova and then input it to my iMac. I am not sure where to begin.
     
  2. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #2
    Do you have MIDI cables, a MIDI interface, and GarageBand from iLife? That would be the easiest way to start.
     
  3. opusthe2nd thread starter macrumors 6502

    opusthe2nd

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    #3
    No Midi cables. I do have a mixer though. Wouldnt it work with that as well?
    GB, yes, I have it.

    I have an assortment of sound cables as well, just no Midi's.
     
  4. MazaGRANDEman macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    #4
    There's a way to plug the clavinova straight from the AUX out to your iMac's line in if you have the right cables. While ago I used a cable which came with Roxio Toast package, but the sound quality wasn't very good.

    Then of course you could, as I have, plug the piano from the AUX out of the piano (both R and L/L+R) to separate channels of the mixer (to get quality stereo), and plug the mixer to an audio interface.

    Not sure if that's the best way to do it but it works for me.
     
  5. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #6
  6. MazaGRANDEman macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    #7
    Yeah, I'm using M-Audio Quattro USB audio/midi interface, and it gets the job done very well.

    As you already have a mixer and a digital piano, you could get a small home studio built relatively cheap. :)
     
  7. stickynicky macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    #8
    stuck at the beginning

    am having trouble linking a yamaha clavinova cp150 to my new mac mini using garageband.

    Can play software instruments ok, but when I try to record real instument from the clav garage band does not hear it at all.

    have connected the two via the usb cable. Am I missing the point here, can the yam only talk to the mac via midi cables, if so is there a midi interface at one end and use the audio in jack at the other.. sorry for igorance but early days yet.
     
  8. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #9
    You have to define what you mean by "record"
    MIDI cables (or MIDI over USB) 'records' not one and note off information , but no sound at all. THe MIDI information "plays" the software instruments and that's what creates the audio.

    If you want the sound from the Clavinova, you have to take an analog audio output (line out, AUX out or headphone out) and pipe that into the MAc through an Analog-Digital conversion, either the microphone input, or an outboard USB or Firewire AD interface.

    But the two -- the Clavinova's MIDI data, and the Clavinova's sound, are entirely separate things.
     

Share This Page