Recording directly from miniDV cam?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Temujin, Mar 9, 2006.

  1. Temujin macrumors 6502a

    Temujin

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    #1
    Know any good (and free) software, capable of recording live from a miniDV camera?

    It works fine as a webcam with iChat. So I guess it's possible to record as well.
     
  2. Keebler macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    a few

    should work through imovie? or myvcr?
     
  3. Texas04 macrumors 6502a

    Texas04

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    Take out the tape from your camera, switch to Camera mode, click Import in iMovie
     
  4. Temujin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Temujin

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    #4
    Thanx, I'll give it a try
     
  5. localghost macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    #5
    some cameras can only stream dv via firewire to your mac when they record to tape at the same time, but for most it should work just like Texas04 said.
     
  6. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #6
    Strange enough, with my camera you have to put a tape _into_ the camera. It refuses to work without a tape. Took me ages to figure it out.
     
  7. Texas04 macrumors 6502a

    Texas04

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Location:
    Texas
    #7
    As long as you can see picture with the tape out, it should work just fine... What does yours do?
     
  8. Kingsly macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #8
    Quicktime Pro works.
    Plug in camera>launch QT> file>new movie recording> yay :)
     
  9. RedTomato macrumors 68040

    RedTomato

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Location:
    .. London ..
    #9
    Many cameras will auto-powerdown. It's a pain in the neck.

    My miniDV cameras will auto-stream to firewire at anytime that they are turned on, whether reccording or not. But when not reccording, they will power down after about 10 mins.

    I've tried to turn it off in the options but didn't work.

    Putting a tape in didn't work either.

    Only option was to be actually reccording to tape - which runs the battery down faster. (was firewire to laptop - laptop battery lasted longer than the camera's)

    One suggestion was to put it on Demo mode, which works for many camera apparently but not mine, chiz curses...

    ..RedTomato..
     
  10. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #10
    I thought that was only in QuickTime Pro...?

    Maybe I'm wrong. :eek:
     
  11. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #11
    :)
     
  12. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #12

    Sorry to double post, but I really wanted to address this issue separately.

    I have experienced this problem numerous times with my Canon miniDV camera, and have only recently found a really good solution.

    In my menu, I have a option to turn on that I think is called "Demo" or "Demo mode" or something like that...

    What it does it, it shows on the camera's LCD the camera specs and like it's good points and such. A person putting this on display or in a display window would use this.

    However, if you have it connected to the computer with a firewire cable and put it on Demo mode, it doesn't send the things it's putting on the screen as inputs. Meaning, if I use it with iChat or QT/iMovie to record, those things don't show up, only a nice picture of whatever I'm recording does.

    I've video chatted over iChat for more than 4 hours, and recorded for more than 12+ with my camera in this mode and it works great.

    See if yours has something similar!
     

Share This Page