Recording in GarageBand?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by elfin buddy, Aug 13, 2006.

  1. elfin buddy macrumors 6502a

    elfin buddy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2001
    Location:
    Tuttlingen, Germany
    #1
    I'm want to record some of my roommates' music on my PowerBook, so I went out and bought an external mic. It has a standard 1/4" plug, and a 1/8" adapter to plug into the line-in on my PowerBook.

    Problem is that when I push the record button in GarageBand with everything hooked up, it doesn't record anything :confused: It seems like it's recording something, but when I click to stop the recording, the track just disappears. Please help!!! :eek:
     
  2. annk Administrator

    annk

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    #2
    A mic alone won't do it. You need some sort of audio interface, if that's the right term. My son uses a Griffin iMic - take a look at the link to see what I mean, and what it does.

    I'm sure there are other options, too - perhaps other posters have other ideas.
     
  3. elfin buddy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    elfin buddy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2001
    Location:
    Tuttlingen, Germany
    #3
    Ah, dammit :( Thanks for the reply though! I guess I'll have to go find myself an iMic...
     
  4. quigleybc macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #4
    before you bail on your mic

    go to system prefs>sound>input and make sure your mic is selected as an incoming source, and make sure the level is turned up.

    scratch the top of the mic to see if you see any levels moving indicating that you have sound..

    If that doesn't work....then get the iMic.
     
  5. elfin buddy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    elfin buddy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2001
    Location:
    Tuttlingen, Germany
    #5
    Yup, the level has been turned up all along. Guess it's an iMic for me, haha :) Thanks for the reply!
     
  6. Rapmastac1 macrumors 65816

    Rapmastac1

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Location:
    In the Depths of the SLC!
    #6
    Hey, has anyone ever heard of a cool little app, er freeware for Windows called FreeHighRecord? Does anyone know if this is Mac Made or not? Any free recording apps for mac? Shouldn't garage band be enough, that is so strange... I use Magix Music Mixer ( I LOVE IT, can't wait for Crossover) And it has everything you need for recording and making hits, surprised Garage band doesn't have any of this....
     
  7. elfin buddy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    elfin buddy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2001
    Location:
    Tuttlingen, Germany
    #7
    Yeah, I figured a mic alone would be enough, but apparently it's not. I guess there needs to be some sort of hardware to amplify the signal produced by a mic.

    I also tried using two small Mac apps to record, and they semi-worked. Everything was super-silent, so I used the equaliser to pump up the decibels. It "worked", but there was way too much noise to make it worth my while.

    I used the trial version of Audio Hijack and LineIn in tandem to get that far.
     
  8. gothicx00 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #8
    In the long run though, once you get into it, you are not going to be happy with a unbalanced microphone (thats what any 1/4" or 1/8" microphone is). I'd suggest if you got a little cash to spend to get a usb or firewire device that has an XLR mic input on it. Then get yourself a inexpensive XLR mic, even one from Radio Shack would work. And it'll end up sounding tons better than any unbalanced setup you go with.

    And if you have any questions in the long run, feel free to PM me. I just happen to be an Audio Engineer :cool:
     

Share This Page