Recording Levels - Hiss?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Hapkidoman, Feb 9, 2004.

1. Hapkidoman macrumors newbie

I am using a Samson C03 condenser mic with the M-Audio Mobile Pre USB sound interface to record on an apple macintosh.

I am experiencing problems with sound levels. I have to turn the gain up to 100% on the interface to get a volume level that is remotely usable, and of course this is resulting in a lot of "hiss" in my recordings.

I don't believe it is the interface, as I am also using this to record my guitar parts and the volume and noise on those tracks is near perfect.

The interface is equipped with XLR mic ports and does supply phantom power. I have noticed that the blue indicator light on the microphone is not lighting up as it should. It appears that it is receiving power as I am able to record some sound with it, just at a very low level and I have to be within 6 inches of the mic to do so.

I am not an expert in this area, so I am having a hard time determinning the cause of the low level recordings. Does anyone have any suggestions to try to troubleshoot this problem to make sure that either the mic or the interface are not malfunctioning?

Thank you for any help you can provide.

2. sunlikeblood macrumors newbie

Sounds like a problem with the mic. Maybe it's not receiving sufficient power from the interface to produce a useable signal?

3. cpjakes macrumors 6502

My guess would be the phantom power. I'm skeptical about it with USB interfaces, especially if you happen to be using a hub. What might give you better results is a cheap Eurodesk mixer, definitely getting enough power with that and you can add more microphones. The only downer is that while small, it's still not ultra portable.

cpjakes

4. Hapkidoman thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for the suggestions guys....

Since posting I have tried a couple of things to isolate the problem.