Recording newbie: Still confused (Garageband)

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by stringtheorist, Jun 11, 2009.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #1
    Can anyone confirm for me whether I need an audio interface to get sound into my Mac from a regular dynamic mic (SM58)? I've connected the mic to the 1/8 input using an adapter plug, set up Garageband to connect to the built-in line input, checked this in the Preferences, checked that the Mac's Sound menu is reading the correct devices, but I still see no signal at all on Garageband's level meters... none. I was under the impression I could record an audio signal directly without any outboard a/d conversion. :confused:
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    sk8mash

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #2
    You should be able to. Have you clicked the red circle near the volume controls to arm the track?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
  4. macrumors 65816

    Jolly Jimmy

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #4
    The problem is that your mic has a low impedance and is sending a low level mic signal into a high impedance line level input. You will need a mic preamp of some sort, a mixer or an audio interface with a mic in.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #5
    OK, many thanks. (Glad to have that sorted.) :)
     

Share This Page