Recording question

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by nortmansdad, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    #1
    Is there anyone out there that records HBO HD, Cinemax HD, etc. onto their computers? If so, what are you using to do it? Thank you to anyone who can help!
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    northy124

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #2
    What's this got to do with TV?
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    pkoch1

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    So it can be ultimately put onto an apple tv?
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    #4
    yes i want to put it on the apple tv
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    northy124

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #5
    I don't know what you get in the US but I think the EyeTV 250 Plus takes Cable TV (But not sure as it is different in US compared to UK) but if you have a Windows Vista Media Centre PC get a ATI TV Wonder™ Digital Cable Tuner, but I don't know how you can convert any recorded TV afterwards:(.

    Only get the ATI TV Wonder™ Digital Cable Tuner if you have a Vista Media Centre PC. Would it be easier to torrent what you want to record;)
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    wwooden

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #6
    I think you'll find it difficult to find a tuner that can decode any of the premium channels such as HBO. Most tuners that I know can't do that so you can't record any of those channels. You could possibly record the stuff onto a cable DVR box then output that to a device connected to a computer, but that sounds like quite a hassle.
     

Share This Page