Recording sound on the iMac 21.5

Discussion in 'iMac' started by adirtylurker, Jan 16, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Jan 16, 2013
    Hi guys first post on these boards. I recently purchased a Macbook Pro 13" 2012 and after recieving delivery shortly realised that the line in function that was on earlier models wasn't included on this model. I am returning the Macbook and after I get refunded am looking at maybe getting an iMac 21.5 instead. Before doing so I just need to confirm that this unit will allow me to record in sound via line in as I don't want to make the same mistake again.

    Hope I've explained clearly and thanks in advance to any replies :)
  2. macrumors 6502a


    Aug 5, 2012
    I don't know for sure but I believe IMACs do not have an audio input either. Read here.
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Jan 16, 2013
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Jan 16, 2013
    Thanks, if this is correct I'm astounded, I wanted to get a Mac so that I can start to use the music program Logic as this is only Mac compatible but now I will have to buy extras to allow me to record sound in. Gutted to say the least.
  5. macrumors regular

    Feb 17, 2012
    If you only use it for sound, why not buy a 2011 model?
  6. macrumors newbie

    Dec 21, 2012
    Your link is to a 2011 model and it states that it has an audio in line. But only 1 left in stock so order soon!
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Jan 16, 2013
    After further investigation i have realised I can buy an audio converter like iMic for not much cash to get around my original sound recording issue so am sticking with the Macbook. Thanks for all your advice though, much appreciatted.
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Jun 24, 2012
    While I think the removal of the line in port on recent Macs is annoying, if you're looking at Logic then you need something a little more than that anyway.

    If you're recording instruments and mics then honestly you want an external sound card anyway. Anyone who needs the power of Logic or ProTools is already using external sound (and then the lack of the firewire port to handle all the current low-latency FW pro audio breakout boxes is more annoying than the lack of a line in).

    You can find good consumer/prosumer devices from people like M-audio and Griffin etc.
  9. macrumors newbie

    Jan 26, 2012
    West Chester, OH
    I've used a Griffin iMic for years

    It does a decent job. It's not a high quality sound interface. It does line level inputs, not for microphones unless you buy one that puts out line levels. For a mic, you can use a USB mic directly to the computer. For the money and for what it's designed to do (get you a stereo line level input to your computer) it does the same job as a typical decent computer sound input port.

    If you want high quality audio you need to go look for a 96 KHz/24 bit device. They are more $.

    The iMic is only about $25 so for what it does, it's a great buy.
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Jan 16, 2013
    Thanks for this, at the minute I only wanted line level inputs to record from my mixer while on the decks so I think this will be fine? As for Logic, at the moment Im a serious beginner and will be looking at a better interface for recording instruments further down the line.

Share This Page