Recording with PreSonus

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by Skibrett3211, Jan 15, 2010.

  1. macrumors member

    Skibrett3211

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    #1
    Hey I have a PreSonus Fire-studio, and am having some trouble. Is there anyway to get it to record directly into garage band with separate channels, seeing as my church lost the software that came with it. I have a full drum set up with mics, a sm57 for amp, and a sm58 for vocals. What is the best way to get all of these into garage band and make it sound professional??
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Select the Firestudio as your audio input in the GB preferences. Set up real audio tracks with sound input channels matching those on the Firestudio.
    Using iProduce of course.
     
  3. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #3

    So you've never recorded a full band live with eight mics before and you want it to sound professional?

    Bad news. I doubt you can do it. Not right off. That level of recording is a skill that you have to work up to in small steps. There are a million problems with mic placment and the room itself and ever one requires experiance and knowing a little theory to solve.

    But if you were to leave off the part about "sound professional" than it gets easier.

    Start with soething easy like just one guitar or one vocal and build up in baby steps.

    To get started plug in a couple mics and make a "real instrument" track for each them. Asign the inputs and click the round record button..

    Get a book on "home recording".
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Skibrett3211

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    #4
    okay thanks :)

    and yes i know its not going to be easy, I'm actually going to school in the fall for recording engineering so I guess I will learn the rest there. In the mean time I just want to do some EP stuff and record some friends so thanks for your replies!
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    #5
    Ditch garage band and get Logic ;)
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Skibrett3211

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    #6
    well when i go to school I will be using Reason and pro tools so for no I dont have $500 laying around after buy a $1200 laptop. So garage band is my only choice right now.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    Responded to wrong thread? The question wasn't at all about DVDs...

    Oh, and you can put links to your homepage in your signature. http://forums.macrumors.com/profile.php?do=editsignature
     

Share This Page