recoveryHD won't boot

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Unknown., Feb 11, 2013.

  1. Unknown., Feb 11, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2013

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    #1
    better fill you in on the history... I was trying to install windows.. so I made a new partition for it and started installing. That gave me an error (it couldn't find the boot disk that I just made with boot camp...) I dropped the idea of installing it and deleted the partition reseting the size on the macOS partition to total..

    The problem is.. now I want to format my mac fresh-fabric defaults and try installing windows again.

    When I push the option key I do see the recovery partition.. when I press enter on it.. the computer just turns off..
    I have already fixed the disk so that is not the issue and I already set the default disk to the Macintosh HD..

    edited:[we're talking about a macbook air mid 2012 13']
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Did you use Boot Camp Assistant to create and delete the Boot Camp / Windows partition?
    Tried pressing CMD+R instead of OPTION during startup?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    #3
    yes I did all in the boot camp. to delete the windows partition and then resize de macHD I used disk utility.
    no.. I don't even know the outcome of cmd+R I'm sorry. what will that do?
     
  4. simsaladimbamba, Feb 11, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2013

    simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    That boots into the Recovery Mode.

    OS X: About OS X Recovery

    PS: Do not use Disk Utility to remove a Windows / Boot Camp partition, that is what Boot Camp Assistant is there for.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    #5
    Ok, I'll try that and let you know as soon as possible what happened. if I format it I mean.. really erase the macHD partition and instal lion from the recovery, there won't be any traces of windows partitions left from the previous misuse of utility disk instead of boot camp right?
    I mean.. if this works, it'll be good as new right?
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    There should be no trace left if you format the HDD properly:
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    #7
    ok so I did cmd+R and connected it to the internet.. There's a world turning around and.. it isn't doing anything.. I don't wanna lie, but for the past 15 minutes it's like that.. As I was writing it stopped..

    The screen has an exclamation mark so I don't predict any good coming out of this.. says apple.com/support
    2102F

    help.. anyone?
     
  8. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #8
    I am not proficient enough with Internet Recovery, since it is a big bag of hurt, but try a NVRAM reset. I guess you do not have extended warranty yet in order to phone Apple Support for free?
     
  9. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #9
    Sounds like your recovery partition is borked.

    Try a command-option-r boot (all three keys at once) to get to Internet Recovery. That will DL a new recovery image from Apple's servers.
     
  10. Unknown., Feb 11, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2013

    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    #10
    yes I was just searching about the error and people were suggesting that exactly.. reseting the nvram or whatever it's called.. no I don't.. I'm going to the store today.. apple has really been disappointing me lately in every aspect.. writing this from my asus eeepc of 4 years. I've tested more than 20 operative systems on this netbook.. once even droped it to the floor and yet.. it lives.. I should have bought an asus powerpc. I'm filled with regret.
    thank you so much for your help.

    ----------

    going to try this

    edited: it's the spinning world.. all I can do is wait now lol thank you both guys
     
  11. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    #11
    error 2002F from doing cmd+optn+R
    I think there's no hope.. it's still in warranty.. but I don't know what will happen.. or if they'll blame it on me somehow.. I'll now pack everything to take it to the store.. Thank you for all the help, very good community for a very overrated and falsely advertised brand.
     
  12. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #12
    You would not happen to be trying to use a WPA2 wifi network? Try setting the router to just WPA (personal) and give it a shot from cmd-opt-r.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    #13
    ok I'll give it a try
     

Share This Page