Redirecting the net out through ethernet?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by VectorWarrior, Oct 16, 2004.

  1. VectorWarrior macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    #1
    Hello all,

    sorry for the rather rubbish question... but i'm having a REAL pain in the ass trying to get an Xbox (yeah i know, don't mention it) to connect to the net due to problems with my ISP not liking my ethernet router (for unknown reasons) but it is quite happy for my mac to use the usb modem they sent me. So i was thinking about redirecting the net access through the ethernet cable and out to the xbox but i have no idea how to do this. The info on the xbox website is all windows based (obviously) so i have no idea how to go about setting this up.

    Anyone any ideas, i imagine its relative simple but i know very little about networking... oh, bare in mind i'm still running on OS9 (for various reasons).

    thanks in advance if anyone can help...

    Rob
     
  2. cazlar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #2
    Hmm, if you were in OS X it would simply be a matter of turning internet sharing on in preferences. I can't remember if OS 9 had a similar function, I would be looking under TCP/IP control panel if I had to guess though. (sorry, no OS 9 box here to check on).

    Edit: Actually, after a quick search, you may need a third-party program to do this in OS 9 such as IPNetRouter.
     
  3. VectorWarrior thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    #3
    hi there,

    thanks for that. I did try that IPnetRouter thing you suggested and.... it almost worked. After a lot of fiddling i got the xbox to 'see' the net... but then it couldn't get any info from it... i don't know if it was to do with the way i set it up...

    anyway, thanks again, hopefullly i'll get this sorted eventually, any other ideas out there? :D
     
  4. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #4
    your isp is not liking your router because you have register your routers mac address with the isp. just give tech support a call and say you need to register a router.
     
  5. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #5
    Most routers have the ability to masquerade as a different MAC address. You should see if you model has this functionality and then get the MAC address from your mac and set this on the router.
     
  6. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002

Share This Page