Reformatting HDD, do I need to back music up?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Acoustica, Aug 13, 2004.

1. Acoustica macrumors member

Hi everyone. In order to bring some order to my jumbled PowerBook, I'm going to be reformatting the HDD tomorrow and I had a question in regards to iTMS purchases.

I've bought about 1.5GB worth of music so far from iTMS and have it all on my computer because sadly I don't own an iPod yet. What I'm wondering is, is will it be safe for me to format this computer and then upon reinstalling, be able to go into iTunes, check for purchased music, and downloading all the music again? I haven't found anything addressing this in the support pages but I'm not that good at finding things, thanks in advance for your help!

2. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

crazzyeddie

I'm pretty sure that using the "Check for Purchased Music" command, you can download any songs that you have purchased that aren't currently in your music library.

3. yellow Moderator emeritus

yellow

I don't believe that you can do that.. Anyone else?

Hmm.. maybe you can. WHo can argue with Dave Chappelle's Avatar? :)

Can't you make a couple data CDs with your iTunes music on it, just in case (assuming you have a CD writer)?

4. tdhurst macrumors 68040

tdhurst

NO!

iTMS only allows the "check for purchased music" tab to download songs that you have not previously downloaded to your computer. You will NEED to backup your files if you want to keep them.

5. rainman::|:| macrumors 603

rainman::|:|

this is true. you must back up, I would avoid backing up to CD, copy them as files perhaps but don't burn them as music...

paul

6. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

crazzyeddie

Backup to a Data CD. iTunes has a setting for that in the prefs. Just burn your "Purchased Music" playlist after changing your burn preference to Data CD, and voila :D

7. Horrortaxi macrumors 68020

Horrortaxi

8. jsw Moderator emeritus

jsw