Reformatting iPod

Discussion in 'iPod' started by tikibangout, Aug 13, 2005.

  1. macrumors regular

    tikibangout

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #1
    Hi, I have the newest iPod 20GB color display. At first it was formatted to windows, but now I only use my iBook. How do I reformat it to Mac OS X?
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    Capt Underpants

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #2
    Plug it in. There should be a message that pops up asking if you want to reformat it for use on a mac.

    NOTE: A windows formatted iPod will work on a mac, though.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    tikibangout

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #3
    I tried plugging it in. It shows up on the desktop, but no message.

    I had problems though when I did have it connected. Such as all my songs getting erased.
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    Capt Underpants

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #4
    Well if the songs you have on the iPod aren't in your iTunes library, they will get erased. The iPod only keeps what that particular iTunes library has.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Location:
    SE PA
  6. macrumors 68030

    Capt Underpants

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #6
    Which is in Appilcations -> Utilities -> iPod Software Updater

    Well that's if you already have the update. If you don't have the update, check Software Update.
     

Share This Page