Reformatting

Discussion in 'iPod' started by Telp, Mar 20, 2007.

  1. Telp macrumors 68040

    Telp

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    #1
    My friend has recently bought a new iMac. However they had a machine running windows before and have a windows formatted iPod. Is there a way this person can reformat the iPod for Macs?
     
  2. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    While the Mac should work with the Windows-formatted iPod, you can initialize it by updating the iPod (now done through iTunes rather than the updater me thinks). You can also probably initialize it through disk utility or by right-clicking on the iPod? (just guesses)
     
  3. Telp thread starter macrumors 68040

    Telp

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    #3
    Thanks for the fast reply and thanks ill let them know.
     
  4. Cinematographer macrumors 6502a

    Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Location:
    far away
    #4
    Watch out.

    The Apple support site says:

    "You should not partition, format, or change the formatting of iPod's hard disk using Disk Utility, Windows Explorer or other utility unless you are performing troubleshooting steps that require this step.

    iPod, iPod mini, and iPod shuffle cannot play music if you format or partition the hard disk."

    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=60957-en:
     
  5. WillJS macrumors 65816

    WillJS

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    #5
    Just plug it in. No special steps required.. it will format itself.. it did for me.
     

Share This Page