Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

joeyjojoe

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 20, 2003
Los Angeles, CA
okay so i've heard from a lot of people that i need to repair disk permissions pretty often. is there anything else i need to do to keep my machine running well?

i'm totally new to macs and osx, so please speel it out for me.:)

simX

macrumors 6502a
May 28, 2002
Bay Area, CA
I disagree with the statement that repairing permissions should be done regularly. Repairing permissions need only be used as a troubleshooting step, although it is one of the more important troubleshooting steps, as permissions can cause some very big problems.

As for your actual question -- I don't believe there's anything that really is vital to regularly do in order to keep your machine up and running well. Mine has been up and running fine without repairing permissions or doing anything else that often.

wdlove

macrumors P6
Oct 20, 2002
I don't even know or understand the repair disk permissions. What about the use of Drive 10, Tech Tools Pro, Norton Utilities, or Disk Warrior. Such as just the routine tests or defragmentation?

idea_hamster

macrumors 65816
Jul 11, 2003
NYC, or thereabouts
It's my understanding that disk utilities like Disk 10 are really best for fixing disk problems, so they're good to have on hand in case of problems, but don't really do much in the way of maintenance.

Also, defragmenting is unlikely to give a big performance boost since OS X is unix-based. Unix systems are designed to quickly use information located on different computers, so some fragmentation isn't likely to slow it too much.

I repair permissions about once a month -- I think it helps to keep things running well and avoid problems. Some folks say it's not necessary. I think it doesn't hurt and seems to help.

rainman::|:|

macrumors 603
Feb 2, 2002
iowa